We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter E
Levin, New Zealand

Great stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Oct 2022via mobile
A very pleasant 3 nights. Very roomy hotel,in pristine condition.In walking distance of main shopping mall an numerous restaurants.impossible to find any faults. Will definitely be 1st choice when we return to New Plymouth. The staff were unobtrusive but very helpful if required. Easy and convenient parking.
Date of stay: October 2022
Room Tip: Prepare for a enjoyable stay.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Anslow, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Dear Peter, thank-you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience at our motel, and enjoyed what New Plymouth has to offer.
Our staff will definitely be happy to read what you have written. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $217
  • Priceline
    $254
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.4 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$75
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $75
1.6 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Priceline
    $181
0.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $92
  • Priceline
    $95
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $121
  • Algotels
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $124
  • Algotels
1.2 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $198
0.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $104
  • Vio.com
    $98
  • eDreams
1.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $201
  • Algotels
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance walked everywhere great stay spacious rooms central location balcony plymouth sparkle onsite heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

Outstanding hotel. Very light spacious rooms. Very clean and tidy. Modern room big bathroom, sliding doors to balcony. Good heating and good views. Walking distance to many hotels and restaurants. Breakfast at crowded house was outstanding by the way.
Good parking.
We will be back

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Geridog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa Anslow, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2022

Hi Geridog1, Thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you loved your stay at our motel and beautiful region. Our staff will be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer service as our main priority and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2022 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a weekend away. From the moment that we booked, the service was exceptional. A personalised email shortly following our booking set the tone, where nothing is a problem for the staff at this hotel. They were so welcoming and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our weekend in their beautiful city. The facilities are modern and sparkly clean, with the beds among the most comfortable that I have experienced in a hotel. The central location is fantastic, we walked everywhere and didn’t hop in the car again until we left. The free onsite car parking is the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank townie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Wow Townie, This review made our day! We are thrilled that you loved your experience at the motel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

Loved our stay here.
Rooms are modern and super spacious, lovely bathroom.
The owners and reception staff are super friendly and helpful.
So central but hardly any noise.
Such a good price for the service and location etc.
Will be back😄
Thank you for the amazing service.

Room tip: Super convenient with parking at premises.👍
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lauramZ8749SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2021

Wow Laura, we are blown away by your positive words and we really appreciate the time you took to write such an amazing review - We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Me and my partner stayed here for our second anniversary. We had an awesome stay, from the welcome to the farewell; all the staff was super friendly! The motel is very central located and surrounded by restaurants and bars. Staff is very knowledgeable about the great spots in town. The design of the motel is unique and the rooms are spotless!

We will definitely come back here!

Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KiwiCoco1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2021

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you loved your experience at the motel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2021

I was recommended to stay at the Metrotel by friends and I wasn’t disappointed.
This was the best Motel I have stayed in. The rooms are so sparkly clean and modern with comfort being the focus. The staff were friendly and we wanted recommendations for local things to do and they pointed us in the right direction. The location is incredible as well.
This was

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank Dmemullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your help spreading the positive word about our accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews