We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
KiwiCoco
Auckland, New Zealand

Lovely place!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Sept 2021
Me and my partner stayed here for our second anniversary. We had an awesome stay, from the welcome to the farewell; all the staff was super friendly! The motel is very central located and surrounded by restaurants and bars. Staff is very knowledgeable about the great spots in town. The design of the motel is unique and the rooms are spotless!

We will definitely come back here!
Date of stay: May 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this review
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you loved your experience at the motel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $181
0.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$254
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $217
  • Expedia.com
    $254
  • Hotels.com
    $254
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
$95
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $95
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$139
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Algotels
    $149
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Hotels.com
    $129
1.2 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
$199
  • Hotels.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $198
  • Tripadvisor
    $198
0.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Algotels
    $146
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.4 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $82
  • Hotels.com
    $104
  • ZenHotels.com
    $103
1.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$209
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
    $209
  • Tripadvisor
    $209
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$75
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $64
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance walked everywhere great stay spacious rooms central location balcony plymouth sparkle onsite heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2021

I was recommended to stay at the Metrotel by friends and I wasn’t disappointed.
This was the best Motel I have stayed in. The rooms are so sparkly clean and modern with comfort being the focus. The staff were friendly and we wanted recommendations for local things to do and they pointed us in the right direction. The location is incredible as well.
This was

Date of stay: June 2021
Thank Dmemullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2021

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your help spreading the positive word about our accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

Me and my partner were staying in Metrotel New Plymouth for graduation. We chose a Studio room with a balcony. Once we checked in our room, we noticed that everything was spotlessly clean! Me and my partner are both working in hospitality industry and to be honest we have never seen such clean rooms before. We stayed there for 3 nights and Housekeeping Department never missed to service our room. Bed is very comfortable and check in is very efficient. Big thank you to the Metrotel team,we will definitely be back!!!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Larinatheeplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hello ,

Thank you very much for firstly choosing to stay with us , and for the great comments. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you have the chance to host you again one day.
Best Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2021

Even if I tried really hard, I don't think I could fault this place.
Their customer service was excellent right from the start. I had a particular mobility issue that meant I contacted them before booking. They replied to my email super quickly with extra photos and info. They accommodated my particular room request with no drama, and bent over backwards to give us the extra help we needed.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom studio apartment and it was great. The super king beds were comfy, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the apartment was kitted out to be very comfortable. The heater kept us warm and the place was spotless. We really were very comfortable there.

The location was tops, right in the city one road back from the water. The free parking was great and (if you aren't mobility limited), you would be able to leave the car and get around on foot. Lots of cafes and restaurants handy.

I would definitely stay again.

Room tip: We stayed in a room out the back and it was quiet. I suspect those overlooking the road could be a bit noisy..
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming_Nicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hi There,

Thanks very much for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure receiving feedback like this from our guests. It makes all the hard work worth it.

Have a nice day,

Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Great 3 night stay. Our room spotlessly clean, spacious, with a full sized fridge and also a dishwasher. Comfortable king sized bed, nicely tiled large bathroom with an amazing shower (that wasn't over the bath, like in most motels).
We just parked our car and walked everywhere. Such a convenient location. We would stay here again if we return to New Plymouth.

Room tip: Ring the motel direct to get a better deal.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebe139
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hello Phoebe139,

Thanks for staying with us over the 3 nights you were in New Plymouth. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location be be great! We do hope to see you again one day soon.

All the best
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2021 via mobile

Great service from reception, walking distance to all shopping and restaurants. Stayed on a busy week for new plymouth and stayed in two different apartments Upstairs road side and ground level access unit 102 would highly recommend super quiet and lovely court yard. Both apartments were spacious and exceptionally clean. Would recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GinaT1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hi GinaT1336,

Thanks for your amazing feedback, and for staying with us on your trip to New Plymouth.
Both the rooms you stayed in are very different and it is nice to hear you enjoyed both of them.
Thanks for recommending us .

All the best,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews