We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Roaming_Nicster
Canberra, Australia

Couldn't fault it. Top notch.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 May 2021
Even if I tried really hard, I don't think I could fault this place.
Their customer service was excellent right from the start. I had a particular mobility issue that meant I contacted them before booking. They replied to my email super quickly with extra photos and info. They accommodated my particular room request with no drama, and bent over backwards to give us the extra help we needed.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom studio apartment and it was great. The super king beds were comfy, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the apartment was kitted out to be very comfortable. The heater kept us warm and the place was spotless. We really were very comfortable there.

The location was tops, right in the city one road back from the water. The free parking was great and (if you aren't mobility limited), you would be able to leave the car and get around on foot. Lots of cafes and restaurants handy.

I would definitely stay again.
Date of stay: May 2021
Room Tip: We stayed in a room out the back and it was quiet. I suspect those overlooking the road could be...
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this review
Responded 26 May 2021
Hi There,

Thanks very much for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure receiving feedback like this from our guests. It makes all the hard work worth it.

Have a nice day,

Regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$223
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Vio.com
    $158
  • Priceline
    $223
0.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$272
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $272
  • Official Site
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $272
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • StayForLong
    $158
  • Priceline
    $163
0.4 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Night
$139
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Priceline
    $139
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $61
  • Expedia.com
    $95
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $142
  • Agoda.com
    $122
  • Expedia.com
    $155
0.1 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $149
1.2 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
    $96
  • Trip.com
    $102
1.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$218
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $218
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$84
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance walked everywhere great stay spacious rooms central location balcony plymouth sparkle onsite heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Great 3 night stay. Our room spotlessly clean, spacious, with a full sized fridge and also a dishwasher. Comfortable king sized bed, nicely tiled large bathroom with an amazing shower (that wasn't over the bath, like in most motels).
We just parked our car and walked everywhere. Such a convenient location. We would stay here again if we return to New Plymouth.

Room tip: Ring the motel direct to get a better deal.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebe139
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hello Phoebe139,

Thanks for staying with us over the 3 nights you were in New Plymouth. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location be be great! We do hope to see you again one day soon.

All the best
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2021 via mobile

Great service from reception, walking distance to all shopping and restaurants. Stayed on a busy week for new plymouth and stayed in two different apartments Upstairs road side and ground level access unit 102 would highly recommend super quiet and lovely court yard. Both apartments were spacious and exceptionally clean. Would recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GinaT1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Hi GinaT1336,

Thanks for your amazing feedback, and for staying with us on your trip to New Plymouth.
Both the rooms you stayed in are very different and it is nice to hear you enjoyed both of them.
Thanks for recommending us .

All the best,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021

As we were new to the town I picked somewhere central, What a winner we booked with booking.com would have been better booking direct as we didn't book what I wanted not to worry the receptionist did everything possible to make sure we were happy with the accommodation, It is centrally located within easy walking distance of cafes and restaurants and the coastal walkway will definitely go back.

Room tip: For a couple the studio is ample big enough with a balcony these are on the 2nd & 3rd floors but they have a lift.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anth0ny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Unlike many Hotels/Motels - this one actually lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Nothing at all to fault. Perfect location, great size, lovely bed and linen amazing shower - and unusually, good size bathroom, plenty of storage, bench space, electric sockets, well stocked kitchenette - including dishwasher and Fridge/Freezer. Friendly staff and would recommend and go back in a heartbeat

Room tip: We were on 2nd floor overlooking street but was a quiet street - I would not have wanted to be on ground floor
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

Incredibly clean, well equipped room with wonderful staff at reception and for the lovely ladies who clean and service the rooms. The balcony, overlooking the road, was quite spacious with two chairs and a table, and was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. Easy walking distance to restaurants for those who want to eat out. We will certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews