We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GinaT1336

Great stay!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2021via mobile
Great service from reception, walking distance to all shopping and restaurants. Stayed on a busy week for new plymouth and stayed in two different apartments Upstairs road side and ground level access unit 102 would highly recommend super quiet and lovely court yard. Both apartments were spacious and exceptionally clean. Would recommend.
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this review
Responded 26 May 2021
Hi GinaT1336,

Thanks for your amazing feedback, and for staying with us on your trip to New Plymouth.
Both the rooms you stayed in are very different and it is nice to hear you enjoyed both of them.
Thanks for recommending us .

All the best,
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$200
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Vio.com
    $167
  • Priceline
    $200
0.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$272
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • Official Site
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $320
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Algotels
    $144
  • Priceline
    $163
0.4 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Night
$139
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Priceline
    $139
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $60
  • Expedia.com
    $91
0.5 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $142
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $140
0.1 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Priceline
    $149
1.2 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
    $99
1.3 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$218
  • Expedia.com
    $218
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $218
1.0 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$85
  • Priceline
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $71
  • Expedia.com
    $85
1.6 km from The Metrotel Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
72
7
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance walked everywhere great stay spacious rooms central location balcony plymouth sparkle onsite heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2021

As we were new to the town I picked somewhere central, What a winner we booked with booking.com would have been better booking direct as we didn't book what I wanted not to worry the receptionist did everything possible to make sure we were happy with the accommodation, It is centrally located within easy walking distance of cafes and restaurants and the coastal walkway will definitely go back.

Room tip: For a couple the studio is ample big enough with a balcony these are on the 2nd & 3rd floors but they have a lift.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anth0ny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Unlike many Hotels/Motels - this one actually lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Nothing at all to fault. Perfect location, great size, lovely bed and linen amazing shower - and unusually, good size bathroom, plenty of storage, bench space, electric sockets, well stocked kitchenette - including dishwasher and Fridge/Freezer. Friendly staff and would recommend and go back in a heartbeat

Room tip: We were on 2nd floor overlooking street but was a quiet street - I would not have wanted to be on ground floor
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

Incredibly clean, well equipped room with wonderful staff at reception and for the lovely ladies who clean and service the rooms. The balcony, overlooking the road, was quite spacious with two chairs and a table, and was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. Easy walking distance to restaurants for those who want to eat out. We will certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

Booking.com had a deal on this hotel but I chose to deal with them directly. Emails were exchanged and I provided my requested credit card details. I missed a call from the hotel and found an email stating the card number was incorrect. I replied with a photo showing it was correct only to be told the room which was the last one had gone. We are now unable to get room in New Plymouth. I usually dont book so close to the date but the visit was due to the serious state of health if a close loved one.

Im not sure what their agenda was but maybe booking through bookkng.com is recommended - you at least get a booking and it will be at a cheaper rate.

Very disappointing and I will deal with my preferred more professional NP hotels in the future!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DonnaHewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Drought, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Kia ora Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concern. It is sad to hear that you have not received the experience we aim to offer our guests. Also, I am sorry to hear that you think we are overpriced than other online websites.
Please let me explain a little. We guarantee our guests for the best room rate while booking directly with us. We advised in the very first email to you that we had only one room left for the requested dates. After receiving your inquiry, the room was put on hold straight away as few necessary details were needed before making reservation i.e., contact number, guest full name, and a credit card detail etc.

After exchanging few emails over an hour time frame, the credit card details provided to us through email were incomplete. We phoned to ask for an expiry date of the card but could not get hold of anyone.
So, we emailed again and requested to provide a valid credit card to complete the booking also advised that we are trying to contact you by phone but could not get through. Besides, the email received was attached with a credit card photo blanked with expiry date numbers.
In the end, after getting no response for 4 hours we released the room online. As there was an event in town which would not allow us to hold the room, while there was no certainty of booking the room from you.

I apologies for inconvenience this may have caused and hope to see your faith restored in our service.

Thank you again for sharing your concern with us.

Kindest regards,
Rajeev Dahiya
Motel Manager
The Metrotel New Plymouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

The location of this motel is perfect. One street over to the waterfront, and one street to the main shopping area. Short walk to the supermarket. The New Plymouth Mall is over the road. The motel is clean and comfortable. Easy parking and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here next time we are in New Plymouth. Street facing balconies provide a great place to sit in the afternoon sun.

Room tip: Front facing rooms with balconies facing the street enjoy afternoon sun.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews