We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$95
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
$95
Agoda.com
$81
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
aroundtheworld
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom

Could be so much better

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2018via mobile
The location of this place is fantastic! It’s based in the middle of a forest but still only 20min walk from the centre, which makes it very peaceful and the perfect place to stay if you’re planning to go up Mt Egmont Taranaki.

It hasn’t got the most modern facilities but that isn’t really a problem, I don’t think it’s any more dated than other hostels I stayed in. However the manager going around every 10mins switching all the lights off (even when you’re using the facilities) is pretty annoying. I know its an ‘eco’ lodge, but it felt unnecessary, most people do turn lights when finished in the kitchen or bathroom. Also cat on the kitchen table where guests eat is not ok.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$247
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $247
  • Agoda.com
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $247
1.3 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior Dusk
Booking.com
$173
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $173
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $173
1.5 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$139
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $106
  • Expedia.com
    $139
2.2 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $140
  • eDreams
    $140
1.3 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
Booking.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $192
  • Agoda.com
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $210
1.5 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $149
2.5 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Booking.com
$218
  • Priceline
    $218
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
    $218
2.2 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
Booking.com
$208
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
    $202
1.3 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfy King
Booking.com
$265
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $265
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $207
  • Vio.com
    $160
  • Expedia.com
    $213
1.8 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
15
21
4
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
21
4
7
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

This place is ok for 1 night, but ultimately was disappointing. Location is around a 15 / 20 min walk from the town, 20 mins from Back Beach and 15 min drive to Oakura.

The whole place is dated, needs bringing in to the 21st century. The WiFi costs and is still poor, sheets look like they haven’t been replaced for over 30 years and generally the vibe wasn’t too great within the property.

There is minimal recycling, so without any other obvious eco initiatives not sure why it is call an “eco lodge”?

Ultimately a disappointing stay, for the same price point there is better accommodation in New Plymouth.

Ps this isn’t a YHA as per the description.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2018

When we booked this place in December, all we could get was a twin bunk room, so we asked that if they had any cancellations, could we get a double room. By the time we arrived in January that had happened. We had a lovely little room, one of 3, with a little porch for socialising. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spotlessly clean with a cabinet, an easy chair and hooks on the wall for clothes. The only drawback was that the bathroom facilities were in another building - not a biggie. There was a very friendly cat and some delightful cooing pigeons, and the person in charge was welcoming and capable. The Reception sign had been rather overgrown, so we did spend a bit of time telling new people where to find it.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bubbles098
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Very friendly staff and a wonderful location that feels tucked away in a corner of the bush even though it's still technically in the city! Shared facilities and the bungalow I stayed in were what you'd expect for the price point - a bit older and maybe a bit musty, but otherwise quaint and comfortable.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dave_the_Slushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Arrived to find our accommodation that we had booked via a booking site in April and confirmed and paid for had been cancelled by manager and rebooked so no where to stay for the 7 of us reckons he sent an email wanting confirmation earlier in month no email received and booking site had confirmed booking anyway his solution was to drive and hour and a half back to Hawera will never recommend this place ever to anyone very poor didn't care that there was nowhere to stay because of concert I imagine others have had same problems with this outfit

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank donnamarjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

The Eco park has an exceptionally friendly manager and offers everything you need. The common room has cosy sofas and is situated right next to the kitchen. A family of (protected) eels live in the creek that runs through the property.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Daydream737069
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews