We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amy R

Amazing stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2017via mobile
This was our best stay in New Zealand! The place is spotless and affordable!
Lynere was so welcoming and gave fantastic advise! She went the extra mile to ensure our stay was the best it could be!A brilliant base for climbing mount taranaki and chilling afterwards! Will definitely stay again, highly recommend this place!
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$272
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $272
  • Official Site
    $232
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Room service
$188
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $93
  • Expedia.com
    $95
1.6 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
$163
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Tripadvisor
    $163
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Night
$139
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $139
2.2 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Living
$154
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Expedia.com
    $154
1.5 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$104
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $167
1.9 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
IMG
$194
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $209
1.6 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $85
  • Trip.com
2.5 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $149
2.5 km from Egmont Eco Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
15
21
4
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
21
4
7
19
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I stayed there three nights and i really liked this hostel. It has a nice, family like ambiance, I really felt like home during my stay. The staff is more than lovely. They're always here to help you with something or just chatting if you need company. They also provide good advice about what to do in the area and about the different hikes you can do in Mt Egmont National Park. Besides, the whole place is very clean.
The only annoying thing about the hostel is that it's quite far away from town (20-25 minutes by foot) but if you don't mind walking a little bit or you have a car it's alright.
Thank you for everything you did for me Lynn & Jan !

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jessicasarahmaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2017

I was really disappointed with the quality of my room. When I checked in, I walked into the main building, which was bright, cheery and clean. But I was directed to a different building further back on the property that was dark and dreary. My room had an overwhelming odor of mold, which was very unpleasant. The bed felt like it was on the verge of collapsing. The kitchen was equally dark and depressing. One night was enough. I bailed early and found other accommodations in New Plymouth. Lovely town, though. Nice parks, beaches, museums and restaurants.

Room tip: Request a room in the main building only. It was nice, and the kitchen was bright and clean.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank brucep452
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Had to divert from originally booked accommodation for Mt Taranaki expedition to closer location. Very well received last minute; friendly owners and staff, neat, well organized, calm, serene place away from everything but still in the middle of it all. Came back two more nights that same week. Good comfortable and supportive mattress in double rooms. Twenty five minute drive from the foot of Mt. Taranaki (and info center).

Don't expect any fancy bells and whistles; it's just a decent place surrounded by a bit of nature with basic amenities in a very practical location. But the difference is made in their accommodation attitude and excellent upkeep of the place!

Had a good laugh and a nice peaceful night's rest.
Would definitely return!

Thanks guys,

From the Belgian and the English girl.

Cheers!

Room tip: the difference in mattress quality between a double room or a bed in a dorm are significant.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KoenWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Booked in for one night to see Festival of Lights had our three kids with us and had booked a family room/cabin which was just a hollow stone block rectangle with louvre windows (without curtains). We were only provided with one thin blanket each and room was drafty and cold. Luckily we packed sleeping bags for kids and had an extra blanket otherwise would've been a very long cold night,
Room was clean but furniture and bedding is dated. There is large lodge area that would suit large groups but the toilet facilities are small and the block closest to family rooms is some distance across grass and unisex, was not the greatest with young kids.
Have stayed at nicer places for the price but on an upside reception was friendly, they did let us check in at 4pm rather than 5pm which I did feel was rather late anyway.
I think this place would suit a young traveller on a strict budget but would not recommend it if your looking for comfort.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank chrissyRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights and the place has a great variety of Accom options plus really good shared kitchen, esp the big one in the lodge. Lovely spread out setting in gardens. Toilet / shower blocks took me back to old school campsites but though basic they were spotless and actually just what you need. Reception staff and helpers were friendly w lots of local advice. Prob best if you have a car as a decent 20 min walk to town, tho I think the mountain park buses pass by.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank evamitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews