We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
explorer2010nz
whangarei nz

Excellent service, super friendly family atmosphere

Review of Flamingo Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Apr 2022
Stayed at the flamingo while visiting family and having a holiday. Found this motel lovely and clean. Very handy to town and general exploring new plymouth. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Family friendly, lovely pool and area for kids to play.
Will be staying here again on next visit.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $180
  • Expedia.com
    $191
1.2 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
$170
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Expedia.com
    $170
2.0 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $181
1.3 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$139
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $139
2.6 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $149
2.9 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$218
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $211
  • Expedia.com
    $218
2.6 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $96
  • Agoda.com
    $84
  • StayForLong
2.9 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $89
  • Expedia.com
    $95
2.1 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $181
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.3 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
88
45
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
45
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pool short drive sky channels wonderful hosts visiting family comfortable beds main road good size would stay again pools motel plymouth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2022

Good location, on main road easy to find and get to places. Parking outside room. Very little street noise. Room good size we had 2 separate bedrooms so good to stay with kids. Shower very powerful. Room very clean and had been updated. Beds comfortable. The best thing was park for kids to play in and two pools, one heated so was excellent for 3 kids to keep them busy, and happy. They provide towels for pool and the kids all got chocolates as well. We would go back.

Room tip: For family travel book a two bedroom room, ground floor easier to get to pool
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stay814399
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2020 via mobile

Love this place always make u feel welcome breakfast was the meanest filled our tummies clean tidy always stay here thanks tony ad maree see u in February a good place to relax after your trip close to everything

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed here four four nights during the recent Taranaki Garden Festival. Tony and Maree are friendly and helpful hosts. The unit was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately we didn't have time (or appropriate weather!) to use the pools.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KeiRaeTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2020

Just hand another trip to Taranaki, and was lucky enough to stay at the Flamingo Motel again.
This amazing motel really does tick all the boxes.
Its peaceful with great amenities. There are two swimming pools, one solar heated and one indoor pool gas heated to 38 degrees, OMG its soooo relaxing.
There is a pool table and ping pong table in the games room. Outdoor play equipment for the kids, BBQ, car washing area, and to top it off, the rooms are great with full kitchens and comfy beds, also Sky TV. What more could you ask for?
The owner is lovely too. Taranaki is a wonderful place, there are so many things to do. So if you are lucky enough to visit New Plymouth, I can confidently recommend Flamingo Motel.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellettboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2020

Such a wonderful place to stay! We stayed for 4 nights in a Studio Room which was plenty big enough for 1 adult and 2 children. The rooms were very clean and tidy and the daily housekeeping was a wonderful treat! The beds were very comfortable and we appreciated the air conditioning to help us sleep. The two swimming pools, games room and outdoor areas were enjoyed by both children and adults and after 3 busy days competing at the Colgate Games we loved having somewhere so relaxing to chill out and relax at. Thank you so much for your hospitality and a big shout out to the cleaning staff who keep the rooms so fresh and clean. Definitely a 'resort style' facility that we highly recommend! Thanks again for the relaxing stay!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AmyB6018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews