We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lee
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Another perfect stay at Flamingo Motel

Review of Flamingo Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jul 2020
Just hand another trip to Taranaki, and was lucky enough to stay at the Flamingo Motel again.
This amazing motel really does tick all the boxes.
Its peaceful with great amenities. There are two swimming pools, one solar heated and one indoor pool gas heated to 38 degrees, OMG its soooo relaxing.
There is a pool table and ping pong table in the games room. Outdoor play equipment for the kids, BBQ, car washing area, and to top it off, the rooms are great with full kitchens and comfy beds, also Sky TV. What more could you ask for?
The owner is lovely too. Taranaki is a wonderful place, there are so many things to do. So if you are lucky enough to visit New Plymouth, I can confidently recommend Flamingo Motel.
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$254
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $254
  • Agoda.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $318
1.2 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Room service
$170
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $170
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $170
2.0 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Vio.com
    $74
  • Expedia.com
    $94
2.1 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$139
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $139
2.6 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Dusk
$181
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $181
  • Expedia.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $181
1.3 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom unit
$199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $183
  • Expedia.com
    $198
1.4 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entry Foyer - Welcome to Auto Lodge
$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Agoda.com
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $149
2.9 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
$218
  • Priceline
    $218
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $218
2.6 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mt Egmont
$75
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.3 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$98
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    $84
  • Hotels.com
    $93
  • Trip.com
    $104
2.9 km from Flamingo Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in New Plymouth
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
88
45
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
45
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pool short drive sky channels wonderful hosts visiting family comfortable beds main road good size would stay again pools motel plymouth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2020

Such a wonderful place to stay! We stayed for 4 nights in a Studio Room which was plenty big enough for 1 adult and 2 children. The rooms were very clean and tidy and the daily housekeeping was a wonderful treat! The beds were very comfortable and we appreciated the air conditioning to help us sleep. The two swimming pools, games room and outdoor areas were enjoyed by both children and adults and after 3 busy days competing at the Colgate Games we loved having somewhere so relaxing to chill out and relax at. Thank you so much for your hospitality and a big shout out to the cleaning staff who keep the rooms so fresh and clean. Definitely a 'resort style' facility that we highly recommend! Thanks again for the relaxing stay!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AmyB6018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

Awesome clean great for the grandkids. Very nice hosts would recommend this motel without hesitation. New Plymouth is a city with plenty going on. Note to trip advisor having to wrote 200 characters is annoying

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Derwin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Central location, impeccably clean, tidy unit. Choice of indoor or outdoor swimming pool, great place for pets, friendly hosts, will definitely come back and recommend to others. Had a great stay and made for a special Christmas

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grayfamily26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2019

Booked the Flamingo for a short stay in New Plymouth and wow, was I impressed.
Great communication from the owner, I booked direct with them.
Room was perfect, comfy bed, clean and quiet. All Sky TV channels, including Fox News, for some real news. Huge selection of tea and coffee and hot chocolate in the room too. Couldn't have asked for more.
There are two swimming pools, one outdoor solar heated, so its quite warm, and one super hot indoor swimming pool. I was in heaven.
Car parking right outside your room, friendly owner and cleaning staff.
We will definitely stay here if we head back to New Plymouth.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bellettboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2019

I stayed here with my husband over Easter.

First impression was very friendly host and the room had the wow factor,

It was oerfect for our group to mingle and socialise. The BBQ on the Friday night was very tasty cooked by mine host LOL.

Highly recommended.

Room tip: Unit 6 is greeat for people with disabilities.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo1970NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews