We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, moderate price, fair service”
Review of Cobb & Co. Rotorua

Cobb & Co. Rotorua
Ranked #45 of 233 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: US$11 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome back to New Zealand's original Restaurant and Saloon! Visit Cobb & Co. for a friendly environment and warm charm that is uniquely kiwi. Cobb & Co is the best place for families, offering a fantastic kids area packed with toys, PlayStations, and a large fish tank. We also have a special menu for our valued seniors. Cobb & Co. prides itself on having the best steak around: our beef is AngusPure, beginning its natural journey within the beautiful green landscapes of New Zealand and finishing it on your plate, topped off with one of our homemade steak sauces! Here, at Cobb & Co., there is something for everyone, offering a huge menu range, including gluten-free and vegetarian options. Enjoy our wine list, a classic pint of beer, or a colourful traffic light. Welcome back to Cobb & Co!
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The food was pleasantly delicious.

We both Cobb Schnitzel, and both ate every bit of it!

Dessert with shared a triple chocolate cheesecake.

Both were excellent choices!

Thank JelliBellyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback, JelliBellyRN!
You're glad to hear you enjoyed your meals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Cobb & Co. Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

If a restaurant is busy I instinctively cut them a little slack for slow service and to an extent food quality "we are all only human". But as a shared birthday between my mother wife and myself we thought of this place as a safe bet. After being seated we were ignored for sometime then asked for meal orders not drinks. Starters were luke warm and missing sauce but in my sons case raw chicken. Inexcusable for a child's meal. After laying a complaint with manager our mains were brought out quite roughly by a disgruntled cook who I assume was doing there best to look imposing! Mains were much the same warm thrown together and bland. Highly disgusted and will never be back also advising friends and family to avoid also. One saving grace was one lovely waitress with an actual smile and even said hello!

Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hi Sam H.
Thanks for dining with us on your special night. We're really dissapointed to hear the evening was less than exceptional. There is no excuse for meals that are cooked to anything less than perfection. We apologise you found this to be the case during your visit. Thank you for bringing it to the attention of the manager. It's concerning to us that you found a staff member imposing. We have looked into this further and can assure you that it was definitely not a chef. This, of course, is no excuse for anything less than friendly faces serving you.
We really dissapointed you didn't find our meals delicious and charmingly classic. It's great to hear your waitress was so amazing.
We really encourage your family to dine with us again. We'd love a second opportunity to give you the meals and friendly service you deserve. Thanks for taking the time to reach out and contact us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We visited here with young children and they have a play area with toys and video games that the young ones loved. The food was great for the adults with lots of choice but the kids menu is really great too. Not a place for a romantic date but definitely great with kids.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oceanmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thanks for the review, oceanmum!
We're glad your family found everything they wanted at our restaurant.
Some could even go as far to say delicious food and occupied children is the key to making a date romantic..!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Booked a table for four and was seated immediately without waiting. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The menu is quite vast and well priced. We ordered a cobb loaf for the table and it was very fast in arriving with butter, pesto or a sundried tomato topping, very nice. The mains were very nice and good sizes. Overall, for a family meal, very good restaurant.

Thank juliarN9487IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback, juliarN9487IH!
We're glad you had such a great visit. Our Cobb Loafs are handmade and baked fresh, ready for service. We love to hear when customers enjoy it!
We look forward to welcoming your family back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Always a nice place to eat. The selection of food is a bit limited but the surroundings and service make up for it. The menu is reasonably priced too. Which is nice. Handy location right on Fenton Street

Thank Duane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobbrotorua, Public Relations Manager at Cobb & Co. Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Hi Duane O!
Thanks for the review. We're glad our restaurant and staff were exactly what you were looking for!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobb & Co. Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Cobb & Co. Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing