We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Robin S
Masterton, New Zealand

The "Spicer" Review

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jun 2023
We had trouble finding accommodation in Rororua and finally ended up at this motel. It is an older motel in need of updating. However our room was clean and comfortable. There was no hot water available and the owners daughter offered us a refund. We had booked in for two nights but as it was late we decided to stay for one night. We did appreciate the refund offered and the consideration afforded us. It was such a shame that the hot water was on the blink. We do wish them well for the future.
Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: Check that hot water is available.
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Pool at the Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Tripadvisor
$303
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$198
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$281
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
ibis
$169
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Large Studio
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $240
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $223
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $218
  • Algotels
12.9 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $189
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free parking
Pool
En-Suite Log Cabins
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $109
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Aaryn Court Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Rotorua
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
0
2
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
2
5
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Affordable accommodation at an affordable price. There is no luxury, but simple budget accommodation. I liked the fully equipped kitchen. The only staff member old chinese grandpa dissapeared all the time. Had to search for him to check in and at the check out there was not a single living soul nearby.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARIS Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Price pretty good for location(2 double beds, $220 for 2ppl, public holiday fri/sat nights), easy walk to Rotorua lake & city centre. That's the best thing about it, friendly staff second.
Very warm, constantly heated by a geothermal bore, but suffers from a general lack of care & maintenance. Fixtures seemed from the 70's & never replaced, scratched & worn. Beds were clean , so well sprung they were too firm for us, sheets wrinkled. Edge of curtain sun-deteriorated, torn. Even the emergency information sign was old, the supplier ph number far out of date (7 digit ph numbers started in the 80's).
On the first morning we discovered we'd lost food left on the kitchen bench overnight to ants. This must be an ongoing issue as the reception gent had a bottle of spray on hand, he left it with us.
Housekeeping came in daily to replace towels, fortunate as there was no good place to hang them to dry except over the only table, facing the thermal radiator. (the bathmat had a very low rail beneath the basin) Shower floor clean but walls & fixtures so grey with mineral build up I could scratch off with my fingernails. When the shower curtain didn't hang inside the shower, (we forgot,) water on the floor got under the lino in the toilet. It didn't dry so every time we stood there it wet our feet.
Private thermal mineral pool very small, in little lockable room through the laundry. Facility has suffered from the acidic atmosphere of the thermal steam & looks very grimy, floorboards loose, pipes rusty. Pool at the uppermost recommended safe temperature (41C) with no way to cool it. I love hot pools, but this was too much even for me.
Parking is tight - the driveway is one-way & exits on the side st although this is not immediately visible.
Noisy afternoon turned out to be from neighboring motel, drive side.
Gent at reception friendly. I hope he's not the owner as the owner needs do a LOT of maintenance from cleaning to repainting & replacing fixtures - bathroom floor tiles lifting, spotting/bubbling in paintwork. Outside (car park side) light didn't work, when I mentioned it I was told the bulbs had to be removed. Old yellowed ellectrical plug had no on/off switch and needed the grotty yellow multiboard to run more than the tv.
The place could have potential, but would look & feel a lot better if it looked like the owners cared at all.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amchitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We decided at 8:30 am we were going on holiday with the children. I looked at last min deals online and Aaryn court come up as $155 for the night. It slept 6 people and had its own thermal spa. Upon arrival the guy at the front office was quite friendly. He showed us to our room. It was a decent size with comfy beds. The place is quite run down but everything was super clean. They had a fully equipped kitchen with everything you would need to cook a meal. They room itself had 1 king bed one queen bed and 2 singles in a separate room. It had a bit outside where you could sit also. Even though it wasn't the flashiest place I have ever stayed it done the job and I was happy we stayed there. It was really close to town. We got given discount vouchers which we used at Polynesian spa. The pool outside was not amazing. The wood all around the spa was flakey and flimsey and seemed a little unsafe. When I put my foot in the water it was thermonuclear! Checked the temp and it was at 47 degrees. Couldn't even get in. Although later in i the evening we tested it again and it was much nicer. It just felt dirty and gross In there. All in all I am super happy with my experience. We didn't want flash and this is by no means a flash hotel. But it's practice and grew on me :)

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank caseym730
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Not vey welcoming place. I was greeted with young lady who processed payment and told me that unit is at the back, however it wasn't at the back but out on the side road?
Everything in this place is as it was back in the 1970s when it opened!
Old and fraying carpet, old wallpaper. Bathroom was atrocious, there was so much water spots on the shower that it looks black in different light. Towels were old and had stains on them.
Chairs had stains on them. As for their pool, we didn't even think about going near the place.
It's a real shame that places like this are allowed to operate in the popular tourist spot such as Rotorua. Operators like this tarnish the good operators who actually invest the money back into the business.
Stay away from this place.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank ZakB369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful.
Has a private thermal small pool for all guests to use.
Unit is old but clean.
Has a kitchenette so can cook your own meals if you want.
Has a laundry also. Close to city centre but still need transportation to get anywhere.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jpw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews