We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time had”

Stratosfare Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 269 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: US$21 - US$57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Where to look first, outwards, upwards or at the live chef displays... Set high on the side of Mount Ngongotaha, Stratosfare is the newest hot spot on Rotorua's burgeoning foodie scene. Luxurious Italian marble, granite, schist stonework and timber set the scene for a memorable experience where David Trubridge light frames your dinner setting for an evening that is sure to delight all your senses. Skilled chefs at their stations craft your cuisine, while cocktail connoisseurs mix and shake at the bar - and the sights don't stop - there's also an incredible 180 degree panorama of Lake Rotorua and the city to soak in amongst the atmosphere. Did we mention the menu? A range of cuisine is presented to tantalize your taste buds, from the tidal mussel tank, ensuring the freshest mussels you can find, to the flame rotisserie, aged prime cuts, Art of the Grill, seasonal salads and the freshly cooked-to-order crepes, we are sure you will leave wanting to come back again and again. Featuring a stunning array of freshly prepared buffet and cooked-to-order dishes highlighting locally sourced seafood, meat and produce, Stratosfare will take you on a gastronomic journey. Our commitment to quality begins long before our produce arrives at our pinnacle site. We work in partnership with local NZ farmers and growers who share our commitment to food excellence, from the pasture to the plate. Our award-winning Wagyu Angus cross fillet steak is just one example. Our prime beef comes from 16,000 hectares of coastal farms near Gisborne. The people of Mangatu Farms have been working their ancestral lands for more than 200 years. They can tell us exactly where the beef has come from, how it was reared and what it was fed. It's the little details like these that set our dining experience apart. We think you will be able to taste the difference too. Last dinner booking 8.30Pm.
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Fantastic food, cooked perfectly, as well as awesome customer service. We were there as a family, for a birthday dinner. The service from Chimelde was superb, and she helped us with the cakes for those whose birthdays we were celebrating.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Lonewolf1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Other at Stratosfare Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Oh that is great to hear! We just love being a part of our guests special occasions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Love the way the service is always friendly, Chimelde was such a breath of joyful fresh air, and Maria was so helpful on the phone and when we arrived. We had 3 birthdays with us and they brought them all cake. Also the food is fabulous!!!

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Gapeskool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Other at Stratosfare Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you, I will be sure to pass this on to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

My family and I went to the Stratosphere restaurant for dinner and boy we weren't disappointed. The food is amazing, loads to choose from even for special diets - I'm gluten-free and there were loads of options. The staff were very efficient and kept clearing plates so the table was always clean. The view is amazing and well worth the gondola ride to the top. I would definitely recommend this restaurant in Rotorua.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alice926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Other at Stratosfare Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

What a lovely evening we had! Great ride up in the gondola, promptly shown to our table which to my mind, was the best in the restaurant being right on the front line. It was a beautiful night and the views were stunning. The buffet was very extensive with food to suit every taste. We both enjoyed trying lots of dishes we've never had before. We must thank Jodeci, William and Umal for looking after us so well and making the whole experience so memorable .

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Steve_Robocop_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Other at Stratosfare Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you so much. I will pass your comment on to our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020

The food was really good and the price was well worth it. We had a beautiful seat by the windows looking out to the view. Waiters were good. Loved the selection of food and well worth the price

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank Tahingadasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Other at Stratosfare Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Glad to hear you had a lovely evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stratosfare Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Stratosfare Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.