We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day with Julian”

Rotorua Trout Guide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Rotorua Trout Guide. Based in the Bay of Plenty region of New Zealand. We offer guiding fly fishing and boat fishing trips throughout the Rotorua District. We also offer saltwater fly fishing in the nearby harbours in the Bay of Plenty predominantly chasing kingfish. One of the most popular options we offer is Heli-fishing, gaining access to remote wilderness rivers that only see fisherman a couple of times at the most each year. We also offer boat fishing on many lakes in the region. Expect good catch rates of top quality trout. The world famous and highly regarded fisheries of Rotorua is a necessary part of any serious fisherman's travel itinerary to New Zealand. Trips range in length from half day to multi day trips for all ages, fitness levels and ability. Get in contact with your Rotorua trout fishing guide Julian Danby for a fantastic fishing adventure catered around your needs and requirements.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 15 September 2017

A 50th birthday present. Great day on the Whirinaki with Julian - not only caught some nice fish but picked up some key tips which resulted in a much better strike rate whilst out on my own - even landed (and released) my first 10lber using a fly set up I picked up off Julian

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks Andrew. Appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Congrats on catching a 10lb fish. It's a special moment. Regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fly fishing"
in 3 reviews
"caught fish"
in 2 reviews
"half day trip"
in 2 reviews
"trout fishing"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 3 reviews
"gear"
in 2 reviews
"julian"
in 15 reviews
"fished"
in 3 reviews
"river"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Never fly fished before, but Julian took two of us on short notice for the half day trip. Really professional, had all the top quality gear and taught us the basics and got us fishing in no time. Caught 3 good sized Rainbows and missed a few more. Rookie errors!! You wont be sorry going fishing with Julian. It will be an experience to remember.

Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks for your review! See you next time fly fishing in Rotorua. Best Regards
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Father and two sons spent two perfect days fishing with one of the best guides in New Zealand. Julian improved our fishing skills in a couple of hours, and we caught fish and had an amazing experience. Heli fishing with Julian is one of the best experiences we ever had.
Julian will improve your skills, he´s great company and he takes great care of his clients.
Highly recommended!

Thank Kristoffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Great trip Lads!! See you next time in Rotorua for a fly fishing adventure. Regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

My wife and I spent a day with Julian in the streams around Rotorua - many fish were caught, much fun was had, and we owe it all to him. Highly recommended, and we will definitely go back next time we are in NZ.

Thank jstear2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Appreciate the kind review. Look forward to seeing you for another fly fishing trip in Rotorua. Regards
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016

I fished with Julian a few months ago, and I couldn't recommend a guide any more. We caught fish, and attempted to catch fish that I would never have considered possible to even go for. It was a remarkable learning experience, and I simply had a great time. Outstanding customer service and patience on the river. Highly recommended.

Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks For your kind comments. Hopefully you got heaps of tips out of the trip. See you next time for another fly fishing adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Trout Guide also viewed

 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 

Been to Rotorua Trout Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing