We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time!”

Rotorua Trout Guide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Rotorua Trout Guide. Based in the Bay of Plenty region of New Zealand. We offer guiding fly fishing and boat fishing trips throughout the Rotorua District. We also offer saltwater fly fishing in the nearby harbours in the Bay of Plenty predominantly chasing kingfish. One of the most popular options we offer is Heli-fishing, gaining access to remote wilderness rivers that only see fisherman a couple of times at the most each year. We also offer boat fishing on many lakes in the region. Expect good catch rates of top quality trout. The world famous and highly regarded fisheries of Rotorua is a necessary part of any serious fisherman's travel itinerary to New Zealand. Trips range in length from half day to multi day trips for all ages, fitness levels and ability. Get in contact with your Rotorua trout fishing guide Julian Danby for a fantastic fishing adventure catered around your needs and requirements.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Had two fantastic days with Julian and Shane on the central North Island with many amazing fish and experiences.
The stuff i've learnt from you guys definitly helped me a lot on the following time i spent in NZ to be more successful. Everything was perfectly organized and adapted to the current situations. Highly recommendable!

Thank riprizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks for your kind comments. Look forward to hosting you on another trout fishing trip in and around Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fly fishing"
in 4 reviews
"caught fish"
in 3 reviews
"trout"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 5 reviews
"julian"
in 16 reviews
"fished"
in 3 reviews
"river"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016

Julian was a fantastic guide, I landed my biggest trout ever under his watchful guidance. Highly recommended.

Thank Phillipa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

I love it when clients catch their biggest trout. See you next time for another fly fishing adventure.
Best regards Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Had a fantastic day chasing Brown and Rainbow trout with Julian and enjoyed it so much have booked again this year and introducing a mate of mine to him as well.

Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks for your kind comments David. see you in Rotoura for another trout fishing trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We had a great time fishing with Julian, he is very knowledgeable about the area and one heck of a guide, my only regret is that we diffident go for more time!

Thank FogHat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Appreciate your review. See you next time fly fishing in Rotorua, NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2015

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time fly fishing with Julian. We came from the United States, not knowing anything about the area and Julian picked us up at our hotel (right on time), brought us to where we needed to go and let us fish. We caught 4 or 5 fish before lunch (we only did a half day trip), so obviously he knew places to go. He was wonderfully pleasant throughout the scheduling of the trip, picking us up, fishing and dropping us off. The whole process was great and I would recommend him to anyone.

Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianDanby, Owner at Rotorua Trout Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Was a great morning on the water! See you next time your in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Trout Guide also viewed

 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 

Been to Rotorua Trout Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing