We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

The Brook Bar and Bistro
Ranked #7 of 271 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Brook is situated within the Best Western Braeside Resort. Serving fresh seasonal menus with ever changing blackboard specials. Al fresco dining overlooking the stream. Also catering for conferences, group bookings and special occasions
Reviewed 23 May 2020 via mobile

Went here in level 2 of lockdown. What a lovely surprise. Beautifully cooked food served with a smile. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2020
1  Thank wilsonAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2020

My husband and I had dinner here based on Travelocity rave reviews. When we pulled into the property, we thought, "Really?" But the reviews were spot-on. The food, service, and even ambiance were outstanding. Truly a hidden and unassuming gem. One tip: When you enter the property, the restaurant is in the corner all the way to the left -- but all the parking places on the way are attached to rooms, so park in the small lot on the right and walk the short distance to the restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank Dallas-TX-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2020

We were looking for somewhere to eat near our hotel just outside Rotorua and found this on the site with glowing reviews. They are not wrong it is cosy and comfortable, the service is excellent and the cooking is just great. We had probably the best meal so far in New Zealand. This restaurant is well worth finding and supporting.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner here - thanks to Trip advisor comments we stopped by and booked a table. The lamb rump was delicious as was the Steak Frites - the steak was very tender and perfectly cooked. We loved the commentary of the server - he made for a most enjoyable evening and recommended a great wine that was not on the printed wine list. As an aside, we spent about a third of what we had spent for dinner at our very nice hotel the night before, that dinner was excellent as well, but not better than tonight’s dinner. We highly recommend this bistro - but be sure to book a table as it is fairly small.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank MSM406
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2020

We are staying at the BW Braeside Motel and this restaurant is on site but open to non residents.it is, without a doubt,the best restaurant we have encountered in our 2 weeks, so far, here in NZ. The food is sensational - The ambiance is such that you can hold a conversatio. The Autumn Pudding is to die for - but don't tell too many! Needless to say we are returning tomorrow night and regretting we are only here 2 nights.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank O100JCwendya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Brook Bar and Bistro also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to The Brook Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.