We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Linda

Fabulous!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2024via mobile
Wonderful accommodations and terrific staff. Extremely helpful with any questions that I had. Friendly and welcoming. Supports environmental initiatives and provides recycling and composting bins if so inclined. Spacious rooms with a kitchenette that has everything that you need for a short stay
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aura Accommodation, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this review
Responded 23 Mar 2024
Kia ora, thank-you so much for leaving us these kind words :) Great to hear you had an aura-some stay with us in Rotorua - we look forward to hosting you again sometime.
Thanks, Ellen @ Aura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$281
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $281
0.3 km from Aura Accommodation
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Pool at the Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Tripadvisor
$322
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.5 km from Aura Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
ibis
$169
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Aura Accommodation
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$259
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.0 km from Aura Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$175
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Aura Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $198
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Aura Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large Studio
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $111
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Aura Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Aura Accommodation
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $211
  • Algotels
11.5 km from Aura Accommodation
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Aura Accommodation
Free parking
View more hotels in Rotorua
Reviews (836)
Filter reviews
836 results
Traveller rating
710
97
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
710
97
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eat street great location heated pool local charity steam box geothermal heating thermal pools kids loved the pool mineral bath a great stay bbq area government gardens easy walking distance place to stay central location great facilities mountain biking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 836 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

This motel is very well situated, close to eating, shopping, and walking along the lakeshore. It's rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and ours contained a well equipped kitchenette. Everything on the property looked well taken care of. I liked the fact they had recycling and composting bins as well as garbage in the rooms. We never used the pools but they looked well cared for as well. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Parking was right outside of the room.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ColleenBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aura Accommodation, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Kia ora Colleen,
thanks for choosingt to stay with us, glad to hear that you enoyed our central lakefront location :)
Great to hear that you appreciated our sustainability focus here at Aura, we try to make it as simple as possible to do the right thing!
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around NZ,
Thanks, Ellen @ Aura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024 via mobile

Very warm welcome from staff. We had Stella’s studio which was perfect with its own patio.
Very close to fab Eat St and brilliant Lime cafe. Not far to walk to the Kilau park with all the geothermal features. Comfy bed. Great location. Could do with more ambient lighting in the sitting area as too bright. Free milk which was helpful.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 377virginiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aura Accommodation, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Kia ora,

thanks for your feedback, pleased to hear you had a fantastic stay with us in Rotorua and appreciated our top location. It's super easy being walkable to Eat St and Kuirau park, nothing beats exploring on foot!
Hope to host you again sometime,
Team Aura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024

Very friendly staff, who called us beforehand and spent a long time explaining how the accommodation worked and how to get the most out of Rotorus sights, tours and places to eat. They also make a $5 donation to a Community charity, for each day you choose not to have your room servived - nice touch.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndySpr2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellen Tyrrell, General Manager at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Kia ora Andy,
appreciate you taking the time to leave some feedback on your stay with us! Great to hear our friendly team were able to help you make the most out of your time in Rotorua, it's always great when you get some local tips on the area.
Glad to hear you were made aware of our awesome send-your-service initiative! Through this initiative we've donated over $30,000 on behalf of our guests over the past six years to local community organisations, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Rotorua and the Rotorua Trails Trust. Small changes make big impacts!
Thanks again for staying Andy,
Team Aura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Loved, loved, loved staying at Aura!!
Comfortable accommodation, awesome staff. Great vibe, and excellent for families
Sustainable & excellent staff who created an amazing environment!
Will def be booking Aura if (when) we return to Rotorua

Room tip: Appreciate the whanau vibe!!! Money can’t buy that!!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank porterdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ellen Tyrrell, General Manager at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Kia ora 'porterdes',
thanks for leaving us these kind words on your stay with us, fantastic to hear you enjoyed your visit to Aura!
Looking forward to having you and the whānau back when your next in town,
Thanks, Team Aura!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2024

We really liked the ecological thoughts and taking care of the environment - very friendly signs and very well-organized check-in without personal contact when the office is closed. But: it really, really needs some TLC. It's not that clean and not just old but ruined. It doesn't give you the nice, charming vibe like the little signs and notes would suggest. In summary, not really a feel-good experience unfortunately.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kristin_S_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aura Accommodation, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Kia ora Kristin,
thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay with us. in November last year. I understand your dissapointment on the condition of your unit, as you have pointed out there were areas where renovations and upgrades were needed to bring this room up to standard and I appreciate your suggestion that in this case, the messaging did not match the quality of the room.
While unfortuanate that you were unable to bring this to our attention during your stay as we would have done our best to recifty these issues immediately for you, we have since then undertaken deep cleaning and minor upgrades to our rooms in order to bring the units up to our standard before the summer period began.
Thanks againn for passing on this feedback and we do hope you can return sometime in the future so we can improve your experience here with us at Aura.
All the best,
Ellen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews