We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
82
53
7
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
53
7
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath huge supermarket ample space big spa free wifi family room close to town within easy walking distance new owners room was clean and comfortable spent two nights stayed for one night short drive unit discount countdown spas
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This hotel is pretty close to the Countdown grocery store, which is nice. The room had a fridge and a few dishes and glasses to use. We paid extra to get the room with a hot tub and it was worth it. We used the hot tub both nights were there to relax and unwind. The lobby was not open the hours that they advertised. They opened later and closed earlier than they said they would. They only had one kind of soad/shampoo in the shower that was connected to the wall and the toilet paper was like sand paper. Awful. Other than that the room itself was not so bad.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darling1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We had seen some good reviews of the Golden Glow but we were a little disappointed.

Certainly the staff are friendly and the place is spotlessly clean. However our room seemed a bit tired and shabby in comparison to the photos of some of the other rooms. Maybe the motel is in the process of all being refurbished. Everything worked fine and the spa bath was very relaxing. Just needs the décor updated /refreshed.

The location is great with shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Its also a good place for setting off to all the attractions around Rotorua.

Even accounting for jaded décor, still good value for money. With a refresh, this will be a very nice place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

A nice and cosy motel. Beds have just been changed so we slept really well.
Well equipped kitchen. It is clean and nice.
Staff is welcoming and very helpful to advice visits in the region and can give some discounts on tours. Make sure to ask them before booking at isite

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mariekgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liu_Jason, Managing Director at Golden Glow Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear Mariekgou. I always enjoy reading excellent feedback regarding our new beds! - thank you for sharing. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Private spa, new beds, clean linen and carpets. Wonderful experience and service. Private spa the highlight - sit back and relax. Jason really looked after us. It was a great last minute find for our family of 6. . Jason's the Man!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Jason, the new owner, was an incredible host! He picked us up from the bus stop and delivered us back to the bus stop after our stay. He upgraded our room without us asking and even helped carry our heavy bags up the steps! The location is an easy 10 minute walk to the downtown area and right across from a supermarket. The rooms are not new, but clean and comfy. Before staying at this motel, we had stayed at a big chain hotel in Wellington with all of the fancy amenities. But there was no personalization or character there - this motel has both. As a bonus, we were able to do a load of laundry for free - yea! A great family hotel with a wonderful host!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohio2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews