We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
67
99
26
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
99
26
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews government gardens eat street great location restaurants and shops quiet street within walking distance only stayed one night would definitely stay here again motel bedroom lake facilities accommodation furnishings
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2020

I think we booked the last available room in Rotorua (that was not going to cost an arm and a leg) on the school holiday weekend and we were delighted with the complex. Friendly check in, spotlessly clean unit, well appointed little kitchen, and family friendly. A super find. So central to downtown also. Park and walk.

Room tip: There maybe concert noise from park nearby. Choose an east side room.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank solomon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2020

Walking distance to Eat Street and the downtown area, a few minutes walk to the lake and to the Government Gardens.
The Ambassador Thermal Motel is an older motel, but it is very comfortable and clean. The owners are friendly and ready to help if needed. the other staff were also very friendly.
The thermal pool is great after a day out. It is small, and in a little pool room with very little apart from a place to put your towel -which is provided by the way. But it is hot and very relaxing.
The spa pool is set in a small area with some plantings and a ponga fence which enhances it. When the thermal pool was busy, this was a nice alternative.
the motel room is well appointed and you can cook there-everything you need. The bed is comfy.
There is an outside pool for summer. Parking on site.

Room tip: downstairs facing the side street got all day sun.
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillB114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2019

We stayed 2 nights here in Rotorua.

Pros:
-lots of parking (Free)
-easy checkin
-large room including kitchen
-paid laundry facilities
-walking distance to town

Cons:
-very hot in rooms even with fans on
-bathroom is basic and could use some TLC

Date of stay: February 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ykk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2019

We had the family unit (2 bedroom) and was adequate for size 1 adult with 3 children in one room, couple in the other, and another adult slept in living room. No mirrors in bedrooms.
No sharp knives at all in kitchen. A veggie/paring knife, serrated blade knife should be standard in the unit. We couldn't cut tomatoes or avocado.
Spa pool was almost outside our unit and noise from people using it was so annoying. Sunday morning 7.30am and a family was making huge noise squealing and talking loud in the spa - we could not sleep. Our unit seemed to be on the main walkway where every guest walked past - again ever so noisy. No sound-proofing so we heard everything. Kids running up and down the stairs to the units above us - ever so noisy.
On a positive, very close to town to all the eateries. Was clean enough and manageress was most pleasant. Bedrooms spacious with spacious area for luggage etc. We used the outside hot pool.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Davina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

We have just stayed the night. It was not planned as we were heading to Taupo for an early appointment so got as far as Rotorua. Dug around for a clean and comfortable yet central place to stay. This place we were lucky to find. Meticulously clean, can cook in if you want or walk just 3 minutes to a wide variety of eating places. It is older, does offer pools which we did not use. We were downstairs and I thought might be noisy but certainly was not. I would recommend this if yu are looking for something ie we were

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brookesanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews