We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
US$70
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
111
14
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastlake rotoruayogurtnew zealandgreat hostsbreakfasts were excellentself contained apartmentblack swanstrout fishinglovely view of the lakeplaces to visitlocal knowledgerotorua smellmaori dinnertwo nightsfully equipped kitchenour night stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Lyndsay and Graham were very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent and well equipped... Even a travel adaptor. Shower was really good. Breakfast of home made museli and yoghurt backed up by whatever you wanted hot was superb. Lovely views from room over lake. Good Dvice on where to go and eat... Even booking a table for us. Could not fault at all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BobCv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Lindsay and Graham were wonderful hosts, and their Lakeside Lodge a beautiful place to stay in the Rotarua area.
My husband and I were travelling by car with our two teenage grandsons and arrived late afternoon. Lindsay made us tea and served it with delicious homemade treats. While we enjoyed the relaxation from our long drive on the left side of the road, they helped us to plan our stay: where to visit, what to see, where to eat, and so on. Lindsay even made whatever reservations for us that we needed.
If you go, be sure to ask about the walk through the California Redwoods, where a stream bubbles and birds abound. It is one of our favorite memories of New Zealand, and we would never have known about it without Lindsay’s suggestion.
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge really is right on the lake. The views from living area on the upper floor are fantastic. We watched the sunset reflections, and then the sunrise, and an amazing collection of water birds congregating there. Our rooms were very comfortable in every regard, and my husband and I delighted in the heated bathroom floor we had in our room.
Breakfasts were perfect, with variations every day. Always there was homemade granola and yoghurt, fruit, fresh baked muffins or little quiches, and of course toast and jam. We enthusiastically recommend Lakeside Lodge for anyone exploring the Rotarua area.

Room Tip: Best view is overlooking lake from second level
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The owners were friendly and welcoming, helpful with advice in terms of places of interest. We would say that the room was clean and adequate. It was upstairs with no lift so perhaps travel light.
The breakfast was adequate but consisted of fruit (warmed peaches on 1 of the days) cereal and toast, no cooked was offered.
No house key was offered so on the day that the owners were out we were advised that we would be unable to access the house from breakfast time until late afternoon.
If we were to return to the Rotraua area again we would seek an alternative place to stay.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank love2travelNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay B, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you were obviously disappointed with your time here.
We advertise that our B & B rooms are upstairs, and as it is our home and not a 5 star hotel, we do not have a lift. Maybe, you would be happy to drop us an email with any suggestions you have for making our rooms more than adequate.

Breakfast is always a choice of cereals, along with my home made muesli and yoghurt, fresh fruit platter or salad, or other seasonal fruit. We have never served warmed peaches . . . we do however often serve "honey roasted peaches" which are what you must have had. These have always proved extremely popular with many requests for the recipe.
Also, along with the "toast" we always serve muffins made that morning, or croissants, mini quiches etc. A cooked breakfast is always available.
The usual comments are . . . oh, so much food . . . we wont want lunch!

Unfortunately, we do need to leave the premises sometimes. It appears that on your day here, we had appointments to attend to.
When this happens we "always" ask if and when you are likely to return during the day, and if we are unable to be back, we obviously will give out a front door key.
If you were unhappy. you only needed to mention your concerns and we would have done all we could to solve any problems.

With thanks and enjoy your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

At the north of Lake Rotorua, our hosts Lyndsay & Graham made this a 5* visit for us.
Great hosts. Wonderful lakefront location. We had one room in the main B&B plus the self contained unit .. just perfect for 2 couples. Shared all their local knowledge.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicki3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We had a wonderful time being hosted by Lyndsay and Graham. They sought us out as to what we would like to see and do, and did a wonderful job of arranging visits and suggesting places to see and where to eat, which included terminal springs, redwood forest, and the skyline restaurant. The afternoon time for wine and snacks was very special. The view over the lake was beautiful. One of our trips from their place was to Hobbiton where we had an awesome time.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 256anthonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews