We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour”
Review of Xquizit Day Tours

Xquizit Day Tours
Ranked #32 of 62 Tours in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xquizit Tours specialise in small group tours in the Rotorua Region and beyond,and tailor these tours to suit your interests as there are many places to see and attractions to visit, i.e. Geothermal, Cultural, Adventure, Nature, Lakes and Mountains etc. We also specialise in Shore Excursions from the Port of Tauranga to ensure that you get the most out of your day trip to this exciting and unique area. Free WiFi in all vehicles and complimentary chilled bottled water.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed 26 January 2016

There were 8 of us on this tour so our guide Ann was more than willing to customize it to our particular requests. The 7 hour tour took in Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland with geysers and hot springs, Okere Falls, Governors Gardens and the Blue and Green lakes. A leisure lunch stop was made in Rotorua. Ann was very knowledgable about the area, pointing out numerous points of interest along our route. Pickup and drop off was at the pier where our cruise shop was docked. A great time.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Exquiste indeed!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016

On leaving our cruise ship, Holland America's MS Noordam, Anne from Xquizit tours takes us for a drive along Pilot Bay and then along the Pacific Coast of Mt Maunganui, surf beach on one side and luxury homes on the other, before we head inland through fertile land to the “Kiwi Fruit Capital” of New Zealand – Te Puke. We stop at Kiwi 360 which is a working Kiwifruit Orchard, where we are shown the kiwifruit vines and we learn the keys points of the kiwifruit growing cycles.

Next stop is the Kaituna River/Okere Falls at Lake Rotoiti, where we get up close to the falls but watch from a lookout, but we don't see any rafters or kayakers racing down the falls. This is a Grade 5 rafting river with the highest commercially rafted waterfall at 7m, in the southern hemisphere. Anne shows us the silver fern and explains how it came to represent the spirit of New Zealand, used by Maori hunters - to find their way at night.

Next a real treat, the Te Puia the Maori Cultural Centre. We are guided through this park and see the boiling mud pools, the natural geysers. Pohutu is the largest natural geyser in the southern hemisphere erupting to 30m in the air and generally twice an hour. We also visit the kiwi house where two kiwi birds live, looking at the nocturnal birds through a TV monitor. The kiwis are flightless and endangered. We also see the carving and weaving demonstrations and attend a Maori cultural performance which includes the traditional challenge, action songs and the famous Haka.

After Te Puia, we travel to the city centre and take in the beautiful Government Gardens, which is home to the Museum of Art & History, the Blue Baths, Te Runanga Tea House, Band Rotunda, Rachael Spring and the Totara Gates erected in the early 1900’s.

We return to the Port of Tauranga via the Scenic Highway, and it has been quite an entertaining day!

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xquizit L, Owner at Xquizit Day Tours, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Thank you for your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your tour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Safe and friendly service”
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We engaged Xquizit for our transfer between Auckland and Rotorua, with a stop at Hobbition en-route. The vehicle assigned to us was clean and spacious, with Wifi onboard. Brian, our driver and guide for the day is also the co-owner of the company. He is a friendly and jovial gentleman who takes great care on the roads. He is passionate about NZ culture and made some detours to show us some must-see sights in Rotorua.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank SINWSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly personalised service”
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Had a great tour around Rotorua with Anne, Xquizit Tours, nothing was any trouble and she was a mine of information. Booked it online as our cruise was docking in Tauranga for the day, would recommend.

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank LizFlaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful day”
Reviewed 29 October 2015

We had a half day tour with Brian. He was a wonderful guide as well as a walking encyclopedia of knowledge of the area, it's history and its modern culture. We enjoyed every minute of his company. It was like spending a day with family.

Visited October 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinahalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xquizit Day Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Xquizit Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing