We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the visit to Rotorua!”

Rotorua Canopy Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tours. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!! There are two unique eco-tour experiences to choose from - the award winning 3 hour Original Canopy Tour built and opened in 2012 includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. The 3.5 hour Ultimate Canopy Tour is even longer, faster and more spectacular featuring a suspended cliff walkway, 1.2km of ziplines (the longest is 400m!), swing bridges, a controlled descent and an incredible spiral staircase.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"zip lining"
in 196 reviews
"conservation efforts"
in 92 reviews
"zipline tour"
in 16 reviews
"native forest"
in 39 reviews
"eco tourism"
in 16 reviews
"fear of heights"
in 39 reviews
"free photos"
in 22 reviews
"great fun"
in 108 reviews
"money goes"
in 17 reviews
"bird life"
in 41 reviews
"new zealand"
in 102 reviews
"comfort zone"
in 24 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 19 reviews
"these guys"
in 44 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 44 reviews
"beautiful forest"
in 30 reviews
"all ages"
in 50 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booking process was easy and I had a phone call follow up to ensure that the booking was all correct - was a funnily awkward call with someone who I assume was new but was handy to know I’d booked the right day/time etc and to ensure our trip was going ahead.

Checking in on the day was super efficient, with iPads for everyone to complete their information. The gear was well organised and kitting everyone up was a breeze. I borrowed a jacket as it had a secure pocket for my phone and it was so nice I did contemplate slipping away with it still on.

Our guides Paul and Martin were excellent. As two adults among a group of young children with their fathers I was worried the chat would be purely aimed at the kids but it was both engaging for them and informative for us. The guides seemed genuinely interested in conversation and provided a cool experience up in the trees and down on the ground.

We did the OG tour and it was exciting. I’d love to have a go at the new course next time I get a chance. The views are awesome and although the photos we got from the guys weren’t the best, it was easy to take my phone and get shots we wanted.

Thanks guys for a wicked day out.

1  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sureky a mustdo activity, great way of knowing the forest without too much efforts. Very friendly staffs pay primary attention to your health and safety.

Additionally, part of the tickets goes to the environment conservation budget. Like it.

Thank Clark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad you felt safe Clark, safety is our number one priority. And thank you for coming on tour and contributing to our conservation project, it will go a long way. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing