We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!”

Rotorua Canopy Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tours. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!! There are two unique eco-tour experiences to choose from - the award winning 3 hour Original Canopy Tour built and opened in 2012 includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. The 3.5 hour Ultimate Canopy Tour is even longer, faster and more spectacular featuring a suspended cliff walkway, 1.2km of ziplines (the longest is 400m!), swing bridges, a controlled descent and an incredible spiral staircase.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful place full of beautiful, kind staff! So friendly and helpful. I'm not good with heights but wanted to take in the experience and I did not regret it. The guides were incredibly supportive and made you feel SO comfortable and safe that it was impossible not to enjoy every second. I will be back for the Ultimate tour. Big thanks to Cheyenne and Jamie for being such amazing guides . What Canopy Tours has done for the forest is admirable and wonderful to see. Huge plus is how humane the traps are too, nobody wants a forest full of toxins and theirs is the perfect example of a well looked after, lush forest! What an experience flying through and above the trees! Incredible!!

Thank KellyHalkyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I will pass on your kind words to our team and Cheyenne and Jamie - they will really appreciate it! Good on you for getting out of your comfort zone and giving it a go. Thank you for recognising our conservation work, we are very proud of how the forest has come over the years. Your review means a lot to us so thank you for taking the time Kelly. We are looking forward to seeing you out on the Ultimate Tour next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"zip lining"
in 196 reviews
"conservation efforts"
in 92 reviews
"zipline tour"
in 16 reviews
"native forest"
in 39 reviews
"eco tourism"
in 16 reviews
"fear of heights"
in 39 reviews
"free photos"
in 22 reviews
"great fun"
in 108 reviews
"money goes"
in 17 reviews
"bird life"
in 41 reviews
"new zealand"
in 102 reviews
"comfort zone"
in 24 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 19 reviews
"these guys"
in 44 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 44 reviews
"beautiful forest"
in 30 reviews
"all ages"
in 50 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant way to celebrate my 50th! My whole family had a blast not only in the trees but on the ground too. Big ups to our fabulous tour guides Anita and Chris who looked after us superbly with loads of laughs along the way.

Thank Quest821193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Happy 50th! What an awesome way to celebrate ziplining through native forest. I will pass on your thanks to Anita and Kris. Maybe we will see you out on the Ultimate Canopy Tour for your 51st birthday??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a fantastic tour and the ‘local history’ on the wildlife and issues surrounding introduced species (from Australia) was mind blowing. Safety was paramount and the activity caters for all ages.

Thank SharkyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Awesome to hear you enjoyed your time out on tour - it's great to learn about whats happening in our native forests right? Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing