We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible - a must do activity ”

Rotorua Canopy Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tours. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!! There are two unique eco-tour experiences to choose from - the award winning 3 hour Original Canopy Tour built and opened in 2012 includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. The 3.5 hour Ultimate Canopy Tour is even longer, faster and more spectacular featuring a suspended cliff walkway, 1.2km of ziplines (the longest is 400m!), swing bridges, a controlled descent and an incredible spiral staircase.
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

I was a little nervous before this tour, not being comfortable with heights, but the guides were fantastic and before you know it, you can’t wait for the next zip line. We did the new extreme route. The guides are extremely knowledgeable about everything from the forest, the zip lines and the local area. They really couldn’t be any better. Their passion for the forest they work in and animals that live there is incredible. They fill you with knowledge and make you laugh along the way. I definitely recommend paying the extra money to hire a GoPro, so that you can record your adventure, although it’s also great that you get some photos included with your tour. I highly recommend this tour to anyone! I will be back one day.

Thank GTV90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Good on you for coming on the Ultimate Canopy Tour even though you were a bit nervous about heights - that's awesome! We agree with you when you say the GoPro is worth hiring, it means you can have those memories with you forever and you can relive your experience. We can't wait to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"zip lining"
in 199 reviews
"conservation efforts"
in 93 reviews
"zipline tour"
in 17 reviews
"native forest"
in 39 reviews
"eco tourism"
in 16 reviews
"fear of heights"
in 39 reviews
"free photos"
in 22 reviews
"great fun"
in 108 reviews
"bird life"
in 41 reviews
"money goes"
in 17 reviews
"new zealand"
in 103 reviews
"comfort zone"
in 24 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 20 reviews
"these guys"
in 44 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 44 reviews
"all ages"
in 52 reviews
"beautiful forest"
in 30 reviews
Filter

130 - 134 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

awesome guides ( thanku Andre & Shane) we really enjoyed our day and this was in most because of ypour kind n happy dispositions. Our group was probably a hard crew to guide.... to talkative :) please know we all really loved our day out and wouldnt hesitate to recommend to friends to join you for a birds eye view of a beautiful piece of paradise Jackie

Thank jackieb2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Talkative groups are not difficult at all, our guides love to talk so it is right in their element. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Jackie, we really appreciate it and we are glad you enjoyed your day out with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing