We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”

Rotorua Canopy Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tours. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!! There are two unique eco-tour experiences to choose from - the award winning 3 hour Original Canopy Tour built and opened in 2012 includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. The 3.5 hour Ultimate Canopy Tour is even longer, faster and more spectacular featuring a suspended cliff walkway, 1.2km of ziplines (the longest is 400m!), swing bridges, a controlled descent and an incredible spiral staircase.
Reviewed 25 May 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"zip lining"
in 196 reviews
"conservation efforts"
in 92 reviews
"zipline tour"
in 16 reviews
"native forest"
in 39 reviews
"eco tourism"
in 16 reviews
"fear of heights"
in 39 reviews
"free photos"
in 22 reviews
"great fun"
in 108 reviews
"money goes"
in 17 reviews
"bird life"
in 41 reviews
"new zealand"
in 102 reviews
"comfort zone"
in 24 reviews
"fantastic tour"
in 19 reviews
"these guys"
in 44 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 44 reviews
"beautiful forest"
in 30 reviews
"all ages"
in 50 reviews
Filter

139 - 143 of 2,716 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Well done Rotorua! Beautifully blended with nature, we felt really safe too, great experience for confidence building if you nervous of heights, good for all , only downside pricing rather steep, especially for locals.

Thank sheryl joy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always love having locals out with us so it's great to hear you had a good time enjoying our backyard and building your confidence at heights. Thank you for your honesty with the price. We run an extensive trapping program which is funded by people paying to come on tour and also believe our price is a reflection of our experience we offer. We're pleased to hear you still had a great time and felt really safe, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

My grandsons really enjoyed the canopy tour by zip line. Well guided and well worth the money. Will give my grand daughters the thrill when we head back to NZ in the September school holidays.

Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

That's great to hear your grandsons enjoyed the tour and you think it is well worth the money! Thank you for coming and bringing your grandsons as well, we look forward to seeing you again with your grand daughters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Owner at Rotorua Canopy Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
 
Ngongotaha, Rotorua
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing