We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fun morning!”

Rotorua Canopy Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$106.26*
and up
Rotorua Forest Zipline Canopy Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tour. An incredible experience built and opened in 2012 this 3 hour eco adventure includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a fun morning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did this zip line/walk with Scott and Ariel. These guys had great rapport and , except for the quite serious safety briefing, were incredibly entertaining. There were also some educational aspects about flora, fauna and conservation in this native forest that has never been logged. I was anxious about the zip lines but they were so much fun you had to forget about fears and just enjoy the day. Well done!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,984
    75
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well oiled Machine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From start to finish a great experience. The conservation concept works really well. The tour guides knew their stuff and really made the trip. The zip lines were lots of fun. The free download of photos was an extra bonus

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank michaelangelav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“One of our best experiences in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were blown away by the whole experience with Rotorua Canopy Tours. The young people leading it were very experienced with the zip lines and were both a fountain of knowledge and very passionate about the conservation work being done in the park. The zip lines were exciting and age was not a limiter. This is a must do when in Rotorua.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have fun and learn too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Good mix of action and education hearing about the conservation work the team do in the forest.

Once you do your first zip the rest is easy. Even the highest one off a huge redwood tree.

The team were great, making jokes and putting everyone at ease. Pointing out birds and trees along the way and clearing traps when back on solid ground.

This is something a little bit different, but allows you to make a positive contribution to the pest eradication work in the local area.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa Beach
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome! A must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a fantastic time we had from the moment we meet Jen and Bec's we new it as was going to be fun! The zip lining was amazing, initially a bit nervous but after the first one you are away! We all ended up letting go and taking up the challenge our guides set to experience it upside down!
Wow didn't think I would do it, but so glad I did! A wonderful family experience and would highly recommend! Also love the talk about how they are working with the
department of conservation to eradicate pests and that some of the cost we paid goes towards this project! The forest is simply gorgeous! The whole experience unforgettable. Thanks to our amazing guides and fantastic group! Fun had by all! I wanna go back and do the night tour!'

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Thewillys10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing