We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and not too touristy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotorua Canopy Tours

Rotorua Canopy Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.12*
and up
Rotorua Forest Zipline Canopy Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in August 2012. Explore the ancient forest of the Mamaku Plateau 10 minutes from Rotorua on New Zealand's only native forest zipline canopy tour. An incredible experience built and opened in 2012 this 3 hour eco adventure includes tree platforms up to 22 metres above the forest floor, 6 ziplines and 2 tree to tree swing bridges. In small groups of up to ten people you will be accompanied by two highly trained guides who will teach you about the rare New Zealand flora and fauna and the conservation efforts to protect them. Every plant and tree species you see, you will not see in any other country on earth!!
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and not too touristy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a great activity that blends fun with conservation awareness. All the staff we met were friendly and welcoming.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,933
    72
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing time in the rainforest!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Super cool to see a totally different part of the country - a true rainforest. The zip lining is really fun and safe. The guides were funny and incredibly kind! Highly recommend!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Shweta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Jesse and Spencer are amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided on the Canopy Tours at the last minute just before leaving for Rotorua and we highly recommend that you book a tour with them as well. They picked us up and dropped us off from our motel. They really made sure that our equipment was safe and well secured throughout the ziplining excursion. We really felt safe at all times even though we were terrified when we first booked the tour. They started us off with a few short ziplines and when we were ready to open our eyes and not scream our lungs out they sent us on the taller and longer ones where we could actually admire the beauty of the native forest. Both Jesse and Spencer were lots of fun to be with, they were hilarious and fantastic guides. They also forced us out of our comfort zone by making us do all sorts of silly things as we ziplined.

The best part about canopy tours is that they do lots of conservation work in the forest and at the end of the day, it made us feel like the huge sum we just spent on the excursion was worthwhile because we had contributed in a noteworthy conservation project. It's win-win for everybody!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sheila514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Zip lining is lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent family trip as my 9 year old grandson loved the zip lining. You learn and explore in a way that other trips just don't compare to. Safe and very informative!!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn48188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ Great fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband daughter LOVED their canopy tour zipline. The guides take care of their guests and the environment. Educational and inspiring day!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank lmf60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rotorua Canopy Tours also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Rotorua Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing