We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homestead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clover Downs Homestead
Ranked #19 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
53
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

A home away from home. Ruth and her family were very hospitable and made the both of us feel just right at home the moment we stepped through the doors.

When we first drove up the driveway, we were greeted by a lush welcoming garden of manicured trees, plants and a happy deer resting in the shade on our right.

The driveway opened up to a beautiful house with meticulous thought put into every detail of the space. Our room was beautiful and spacious. In the bar fridge, there was elderflower and lemon drink as well as milk to make our stay comfortable. On the table, there was also a bottle of wine and nibbles for us, perfect for our honeymoon.

Rotorua town is only 15 mins drive away and there's a village that is 5 mins drive away to get take outs and groceries.

Ruth is very thoughtful and she remembers that I'm a tea drinker + grain bread eater while the husband was a coffee drinker + white bread kind of guy. I told her that I was interested to learn more about the Maori culture and she managed to find a couple of books about it for us.

What we enjoyed most was the little tour to the farm in the morning where we put on gum boots and went to collect the eggs for our breakfast and feed the goats. It was the first time in my life that I was holding a live chicken!

Amazing experience and I'll definitely recommend Clover Downs for families who would like to relax and experience a farm stay while being close to all the attractions in Rotorua. Hope to be back again!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthECrampton, Owner at Clover Downs Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your very detailed review. It was great to have you here and I wish you all the best for your future together. We'd love to see you in New Zealand another day. Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

A fantastic location and Ruth is such a wonderful host. Great views and a lovely, quiet countryside setting with a very spacious, light and airy room.
I booked at the last minute as usual, but this was not a problem.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank eezpww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We had a wonderful relaxing stay out in the country, but still super close to Rotoura. I particularly loved going down each morning to the chook house and choosing my eggs for breakfast. We even got pretty good at petanque.
Such a relaxing homely venue.
Thanks

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthECrampton, Owner at Clover Downs Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thanks Mark for staying at Clover Downs. As we've just re-opened after a period of time, it's encouraging to receive your feedback. Come back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We enjoyed two days at Clover Downs while on a motorcycle tour of New Zealand, and only regret we couldn't stay longer. The location is perfect, away from the bustle of Rotorua, but close enough for easy access when you want it. The setting was marvelous, and the hosts were completely engaging. When we mentioned we were amateur astronomers and hadn't seen the southern hemisphere's skies, a pair of binoculars greeted us in our room as we returned from dinner. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, and the presence of the farm animals, including an ostrich, was happily idyllic. A fantastic place, recommended without reservation!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just spent two nights here and now we are homesick, Sharon and Mike were perfect hosts for us--knowledgeable of the area and attractions, totally available and willing to leave us on our own. The room was perfectly appointed and huge with a private deck. We loved waking up with the deer peeking inquisitively at us from their meadow. Mike's farm tour, which included feeding the ostrich, deer and alpacas was so much fun we could do it daily. Drive to town is 15 minutes, to the redwoods and spring 10 minutes -- so convenient AND completely peaceful. The quiet is breathtaking, as is the night sky. Love this place so much -- we will go back!

Room Tip: We loved our room (Governor's Suite) but saw the others and they looked great, too,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie48070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
13.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
4.8 km away
Doolan's Country Retreat
5.1 km away
Nicara Lakeside Lodge
Nicara Lakeside Lodge
#17 of 52 in Rotorua
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
154 reviews
13.6 km away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
4.4 km away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Downs Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Downs Homestead

Address: 175 Jackson Road | Rd 6, Rotorua 3096, New Zealand (Formerly Clover Downs Estate)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $206 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clover Downs Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clover Downs is a unique place to stay. Situated just 15 minutes from Rotorua in the secluded country setting of Hamurana, it is a comfortable homestead catering for single travellers, couples and families. Large comfortable rooms provide you with a place to rest and relax in peace and tranquillity, while cows, horse and deer graze on the green paddocks surrounding the house. Clover Downs gives you an unparalleled opportunity to get up close to farm animals. In the evening after a busy day of sightseeing, enjoy a glass of wine on your own private veranda overlooking lush pasture.Your host, Ruth will ensure that your retreat is comfortable and memorable. She can also help arrange other activities so that you can experience all that Rotorua has to offer - geothermal wonderlands with geysers and bubbling mud pools, the rich Maori culture, excellent fishing, sightseeing and other exciting pursuits. Or you can travel further afield to Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Whakatane, Taupo and Waitomo.Stay at Clover Downs Estate, enjoy fine country accommodation, get close to nature, breathe the country air. An authentic kiwi experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Clover Downs Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing