We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clover Downs Homestead
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$573
US$485
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
34
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh eggschicken cooprolling green hillshome away from homebed and breakfastb bnew zealandeach morningstayed longervisiting rotoruasheephomestayaccommodationattractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

A fantastic location and Ruth is such a wonderful host. Great views and a lovely, quiet countryside setting with a very spacious, light and airy room.
I booked at the last minute as usual, but this was not a problem.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank eezpww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We had a wonderful relaxing stay out in the country, but still super close to Rotoura. I particularly loved going down each morning to the chook house and choosing my eggs for breakfast. We even got pretty good at petanque.
Such a relaxing homely venue.
Thanks

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthECrampton, Owner at Clover Downs Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thanks Mark for staying at Clover Downs. As we've just re-opened after a period of time, it's encouraging to receive your feedback. Come back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We enjoyed two days at Clover Downs while on a motorcycle tour of New Zealand, and only regret we couldn't stay longer. The location is perfect, away from the bustle of Rotorua, but close enough for easy access when you want it. The setting was marvelous, and the hosts were completely engaging. When we mentioned we were amateur astronomers and hadn't seen the southern hemisphere's skies, a pair of binoculars greeted us in our room as we returned from dinner. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, and the presence of the farm animals, including an ostrich, was happily idyllic. A fantastic place, recommended without reservation!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the private deck.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just spent two nights here and now we are homesick, Sharon and Mike were perfect hosts for us--knowledgeable of the area and attractions, totally available and willing to leave us on our own. The room was perfectly appointed and huge with a private deck. We loved waking up with the deer peeking inquisitively at us from their meadow. Mike's farm tour, which included feeding the ostrich, deer and alpacas was so much fun we could do it daily. Drive to town is 15 minutes, to the redwoods and spring 10 minutes -- so convenient AND completely peaceful. The quiet is breathtaking, as is the night sky. Love this place so much -- we will go back!

Room Tip: We loved our room (Governor's Suite) but saw the others and they looked great, too,
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie48070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We returned to the Clover Downs Estate after two years and happy to say although few things changed we still loved it. New owners Mike and Sharon changed the decoration and gave it a new touch which is very modern. They were very welcoming. This time we did not take the farm tour but enjoyed a longer sleep which is lovely there. So quiet and relaxing. When you stay in the governors suite (we did also on our 1st time) you have a very nice private deck and you can see the animals just behind the fence. Had a lot of funny moments with them when they were watching us drinking coffee :) It was lovely.

Room Tip: Governors Suite
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews