We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
36
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken coop bed and breakfast home away from home farm animals breakfast was delicious dining table new zealand stayed longer one night paddock netflix accommodation nz
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was by far the best accomadation we stayed at ,in all the places we stopped at,Australia,Thailand ,Hong kong, and of course New zealand.Mike and Sharon were the perfect host's,We had the Flying Room and it was just wonderful.The trip in the morning around the farm was so enjoyable.If ever we go back to N.Z.this will the one place we will have to stay at.

Room tip: A very peaceful place to stay
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pernod51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed for two nights at Clover Downs Estate after a long journey driving from the Bay of Islands. We were given a warm greeting and felt instantly at home and relaxed. The room was very comfortable, good bathroom, large room with comfortable chairs, TV and excellent wifi ... the decking overlooking the deer paddock was beautiful and ideal for a couple of beers to help unwind! The owners (Mike and Sharon) provided excellent advice about where best to head to explore the Rotorua area. Each morning started with a lovely breakfast (continental with option to ask for cooked breakfast) and as we 'checked out' we were taken on a tour of the farm ... a chance to feed the ostriches and to be close to the sheep, alpacas and deer. This is a truly wonderful 'country b&b' and we would strongly recommend it as a base for exploring Rotorua.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our stay at Clover Downs could not have been better . Sharon & Mike are wonderful hosts who are very welcoming and friendly, they totally go the extra mile. Clover Downs is beautiful, clean and amazing not to be missed. Rooms are large comfortable with lovely private decks and views.
This is my favorite place to stay of all times

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay with our wonderful hosts.As a family of 4, we were allocated 2 of the 4 suites at Clover Downs - both of which were separated from the main part of the house by a dividing door (which gave everyone privacy, but the ability to go in and have a chat if you wanted) - the rooms were extremely well equipped, including comfortable beds, drink making facilities (and a bottle or two of locally made, complimentary wine), television and outside terrace. Breakfasts were lovely (continental in style, although we were told to order Full English if we wished), and products on the table were all from local farm shops etc.

The highlight for our 6 and 8 year old was the morning trip around the small farm - in the trailer of a small tractor. We fed ostriches, sheep, and red deer. We got up close and personal to some alpacas, and we made friends with the two dogs that live on the property! A great experience.

Our hosts went out of their way to look out for us during our stay - we needed water bottles for our first day trip and they insisted on taking some from them, and they sorted out the SKY TV so that our girls could watch one of their favourite channels in the evening! It was the small touches that made a big difference.

We might not be back in NZ for a very long time, but we will be recommending this Boutique B&B to our friends who will be travelling over there in the near future!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKongJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in the "Going Flying" room - had a nice deck overlooking the deer & farm fields. Very clean. Large room & comfortable bed. Good wifi. Mike & Sharon were very welcoming and suggested that we visit the local park that has a nice walking trail thru the giant redwood trees past the crystal clear springs. We were so glad that we took their suggestion - very relaxing. Mike's tour of the farm was great! So fun to see all the different animals, including their friendly dogs. The grounds were beautiful - flowers everywhere. Rolling green hills, beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed our stay very much!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews