We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ali C
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom

OK for a few nights!

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Aug 2013
Stayed here for 4 nights but wouldn't do any more. Rooms were dated and our oven didn't work so had to use just the hob! Free wireless internet is a bonus and price was decent. Didn't use the spa. Room was quite big and shower was decent. Good location as was opposite supermarket and 5 minute walk to town. Could probably find somewhere better for the same price though!
Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$325
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $325
  • Agoda.com
    $260
  • Hotels.com
    $291
1.0 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Rotorua Central
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Vio.com
    $230
  • Hotels.com
    $230
0.6 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$233
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • Vio.com
    $233
  • Hotels.com
    $233
0.9 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Agoda.com
    $157
  • Priceline
    $172
1.0 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large Studio
Booking.com
$118
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
    $110
  • Priceline
    $118
1.1 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
Booking.com
$135
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • Algotels
    $118
  • Priceline
    $132
12.5 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Booking.com
$134
  • ibis
    $134
  • ZenHotels.com
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $134
1.3 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $194
  • Priceline
    $174
  • Hotel Website
    $190
1.9 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$189
  • Novotel
    $189
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Vio.com
    $189
1.3 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$100
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $64
  • Priceline
    $100
  • Expedia.com
    $95
2.4 km from Pineland Motor Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Rotorua
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
1
3
3
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
3
3
0
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We are currently touring New Zealand and this was a our first stop. We checked out lots of motels in the area and this was the best price by 20 dollars a night or so, however it is worth haggling! The room was a little tired but perfectly clean, it had central heating and it was very comfortable. We are 2 adults and 1 child (slept on converted couch) and had no problems. The smell of the sulphur is all around the town but this didn't hamper our stay.

Room tip: You don't necessarily have to book in advance, shop around and find the best rates, it's worth the 20 mins or so
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2010

The first thing i notice when i went to bed is the smell. The sheet had not been change i was embarrased to ask to change sheet that day so i ask the next day. I have to change the my self as they just live the bed sheet on top of the bed. Both bed we slept inn got urine stain on them when we complaint to the ownner he cannot take and yelling at ask to live. The bed got smell and i got lots of bites from it but. No customers rights on this motel as the owner wont know how to lessen. WAKE UP YOU ARE HEALTH HAZZARD

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank babo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed at Pinelands for three days and had a very enjoyable time.
The apartment was spacious and clean. Two bedrooms for myself, husband and daughter. It had car parking space for our car.
The beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms quite large with enough room for our luggage.
The lounge/kitchen area was spacious and well equipped to make simple meals.
The lodge was situated over the road from the large supermarket which was ideal for self catering. The supermarket was open from 6am to midnight.
We had a wonderful stay in rotorua and really enjoyed the area with its geo thermal activity/mud pools and sulphur smells which you quickly get used to.
I would recommend pinelands for a stay in rotorua. It is not a new modern lodge but it is convenient, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We drove around to lots of motels to try and get the best place for the price and found this one. The lady was lovely who owns the property and offered loads of advice about good places to visit. She knew a lot the Waitamo caves and which Mairo village was best to go to.

The accomodation was very big with a seperate bedroom to the lounge and kitchen. It was all very dated but was excepionally clean. There was also two spa pools you could use but as with everywhere in Rotorua is spells of sulphur, which you get used to after a while!

We liked this place so much we ended up staying 5 nights instead of 3.

Date of stay: October 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews