We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum selection, friendly staff and atmosphere ”
Review of Third Place Cafe

Third Place Cafe
Ranked #22 of 266 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Third Place Cafe has great views of Lake Rotorua, Mokoia Island, Ohinemutu Geothermal Maori Village and Saint Faiths Historic Church from the indoor and outdoor tables. Fresh food made daily. Full breakfast and Lunch menus, Morning and Afternoon tea. Great Coffee and fresh daily baking. Range of salads, paninis, savouries and sweets. Large selection of cabinet food. Kids play area and baby change table in toilet. Free parking in large carpark next to the cafe. Take away food and beverages. Table service available.
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

The selection of cabinet food is second to none and the menu looks pretty good too. Staff are friendly, place is big and airy with beautiful views.

Thank ClaireNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thanks Claire. We hope to see you again next time you are down from Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2018

We were recommended this place by the owner of the Cleveland Thermal Lodge and he was not wrong. The staff are friendly and the place was packed on both of our visits. The food was great as were the coffees and teas. It has a great view of the lake so take a table at the back if you can. Good soup, sandwiches and the meat pies and sausage rolls looked fantastic. I wish we lived closer and and could make this our regular cafe. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Rotorua.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amaranth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hey thanks for your great review. We really appreciate your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time here in Rotorua NZ. We wish you lived closer too so we could see you at the cafe each week. Canada is a long way away. See you next time you visit NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Stopped in here early afternoon, great variety of cabinet food and menu available. Bummed that we missed out on a famous custard square but we will be back! Staff are very friendly and the outlook is lovely. Easy access with lots of parking nearby/beside the cafe.

1  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thanks Mel. Call us in the morning to book your custard slice so we can save you one. See you again soon. Regards
Fiona & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We came here more than once during our 3 days in Rotorua because the best service we experienced throughout our 4 weeks in NZ and the food was delicious. Thanks to Vicky-Lee for being absolutely amazing and for treating us so nicely and for good chats. We would definitely come back - highly recommended!!

Thank DKanonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Coffee was so good, I went back a second day. Hot, perfect strength and served with politeness and efficiency. Beautiful little pieces of artwork for sale as well. Top spot!

Thank tan152017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thanks for the great feedback. Enjoy your time here in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Third Place Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Third Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing