We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
from US$107.58
More Info
from US$120.93
More Info
from US$68.68
More Info
from US$593.53
More Info
Reviews (2,676)
Filter reviews
2,676 results
Traveller rating
1,580
787
190
54
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,580
787
190
54
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour cultural show hangi pie maori village corn on the cob hangi lunch authentic experience geothermal activity hot springs te puia thermal pools great insight new zealand steam vents bubbling mud culture coins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,676 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

We booked for a guided tour. Our tour guide was so friendly and full of information. She cooked us corn on the cob to eat. The price is very cheap for the tour you get.

Thank maudelott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

The self-guided walk was pretty good but overall we had a sour taste due to the false advertising.

The web page for the self-guided walk states that you'll "find yourself face-to-face with Nature, Hot Spring Lakes, Mud Pools, Geysers and native manuka bushlands". It also specifically mentions the Pohutu Geyser and has a photo of it.

But it turns out the Pohutu Geyser is not included in that tour. Only the more expensive guided tour.

So we left disappointed and annoyed. It was the attraction we wanted to see most of all.

We noticed a number of people with the yellow self-guided stickers were coming back from the geyser path. They obviously decided to go anyway. But we're the type of people who stick to the rules, even when the rules are wrong.

The rest of the attractions were ok and we enjoyed it enough. If they fix up the website then we would've been much happier, or paid more to see the geyser.

1  Thank stut254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

My partner and I did both the self guided tour and the guided village tour. Both were amazing and would highly recommend to everyone.

Our tour guide, Paora, was just top notch, very informative, entertaining and humorous. He's by no means an O.B.E. (Ordinary Brown Entertainer) as he claimed, buy rather an exceptional one. He really did make a great impact on our day today at the village.

Thank JuniorI41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2021

Tena Koe,

Yes, Paora (aka chief) is one of our exceptional guides (though they all are!) and is known for dazzling and entertaining our manuhiri (guests) with her knowledge and passion. We will pass this feedback on for sure.

We agree, taking our guided tour with one of our guides is the best way to gain valuable insight into our history and way of life. Our guides, who all whakapapa back to Whakarewarewa Village, are related to the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces. They are knowledgeable, informative, fun and do love sharing stories of the past, so it is good to hear that you connected well with your guide.

We hope to see you next time soon, thank you for supporting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

Just spent well over an hour on this tour. Our guide was a young woman whose family have lived in the village for generations. Her knowledge was awesome and any question we had she answered. As part of the tour we were treated to a piece of sweetcorn which was cooked in one of the hot pools, needless to say that was delicious especially because she wasn't stingy with the butter. Thank you so much for your hospitality...we will definitely be back.

Thank 166natashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Kia ora.

Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending our experience. we are delighted you had an amazing guided tour here. Our guides are so full of knowledge and passion and love extending that knowledge to our manuhiri (guests) - it's a privilege!

Taking our guided tour with one of our guides is the best way to gain valuable insight into our history and way of life. Our guides, who all whakapapa back to Whakarewarewa Village, are related to the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces. They are knowledgeable, informative, fun and do love sharing stories of the past, so it is good to hear that you experienced this.

We’d love the opportunity to welcome you again one day.

Whakarewarewa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely walk through the recently opened geothermal trail. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The grounds were very well maintained. We enjoyed the variety. A highlight was the lake, such a beautiful colour and well worth the walk! We also had a coffee in the cafe which was very nice.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank missmcleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Kia ora, thank you for choosing to visit our Whaka Geothermal Trails. Glad to hear that you had a wonderful geothermal experience, We are very privileged to be the caretakers of this wonderland that is very unique to the world. It is even more special when you visitors such as yourself enjoy your experience with us, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews