We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
from US$109.01
More Info
from US$122.54
More Info
from US$69.59
More Info
from US$601.43
More Info
Reviews (2,677)
Filter reviews
2,677 results
Traveller rating
1,581
787
190
54
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,581
787
190
54
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour cultural show hangi pie maori village corn on the cob hangi lunch authentic experience geothermal activity hot springs te puia thermal pools great insight new zealand steam vents bubbling mud culture coins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,677 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

Just spent well over an hour on this tour. Our guide was a young woman whose family have lived in the village for generations. Her knowledge was awesome and any question we had she answered. As part of the tour we were treated to a piece of sweetcorn which was cooked in one of the hot pools, needless to say that was delicious especially because she wasn't stingy with the butter. Thank you so much for your hospitality...we will definitely be back.

Thank 166natashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Kia ora.

Thank you for your lovely review and for recommending our experience. we are delighted you had an amazing guided tour here. Our guides are so full of knowledge and passion and love extending that knowledge to our manuhiri (guests) - it's a privilege!

Taking our guided tour with one of our guides is the best way to gain valuable insight into our history and way of life. Our guides, who all whakapapa back to Whakarewarewa Village, are related to the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces. They are knowledgeable, informative, fun and do love sharing stories of the past, so it is good to hear that you experienced this.

We’d love the opportunity to welcome you again one day.

Whakarewarewa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely walk through the recently opened geothermal trail. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The grounds were very well maintained. We enjoyed the variety. A highlight was the lake, such a beautiful colour and well worth the walk! We also had a coffee in the cafe which was very nice.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank missmcleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Kia ora, thank you for choosing to visit our Whaka Geothermal Trails. Glad to hear that you had a wonderful geothermal experience, We are very privileged to be the caretakers of this wonderland that is very unique to the world. It is even more special when you visitors such as yourself enjoy your experience with us, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021

The great thing about this walk is the spectacular views of Rotorua and the village. The walk was really fun and enjoyable. You walk of the lakes and you get to embrace the wonders of the village and its history.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank SabinaAltorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Kia ora! We appreciate and love reading reviews like this! Thank you for choosing to visit our newest experience - Whaka Geothermal Trails. Our landscape truly is something else, the mud pools geysers and steaming vents all add to the village along with the birds and trees! It is really an experience you should not miss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

The Living Maori Village is a portal to the history and traditions of the indigenous people. It is one of the best cultural attraction with Maori dance and performance with a traditional feast.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Naina-Damani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Tena Koe, glad to hear that you enjoyed the village! We are so proud of cultural performance and our team are top-notch. We'll pass the comment to the team. Thank you so much for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

An impressive site powered by geothermal activity. It is once impressive for the landscape itself and twice impressive for the fact that it is a populated village where people get on with their lives by utilising the earth’s powers. We went on a self guided visit and enjoyed walking around the site. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2020
2  Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Kia ora!

We appreciate and love reading reviews like this!
We are very privileged to be the caretakers of this wonderland that is very unique to the world. It is even more special when you visitors such as yourself enjoy your experience with us, thank you for your support.

Whakarewarewa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews