We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
from US$105.99
More Info
from US$119.14
More Info
from US$67.66
More Info
from US$584.74
More Info
Reviews (2,672)
Filter reviews
2,672 results
Traveller rating
1,575
788
190
54
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,575
788
190
54
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour cultural show hangi pie maori village corn on the cob hangi lunch authentic experience geothermal activity hot springs te puia thermal pools great insight new zealand steam vents bubbling mud culture coins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,672 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely walk through the recently opened geothermal trail. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The grounds were very well maintained. We enjoyed the variety. A highlight was the lake, such a beautiful colour and well worth the walk! We also had a coffee in the cafe which was very nice.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank missmcleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Kia ora, thank you for choosing to visit our Whaka Geothermal Trails. Glad to hear that you had a wonderful geothermal experience, We are very privileged to be the caretakers of this wonderland that is very unique to the world. It is even more special when you visitors such as yourself enjoy your experience with us, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021

The great thing about this walk is the spectacular views of Rotorua and the village. The walk was really fun and enjoyable. You walk of the lakes and you get to embrace the wonders of the village and its history.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank SabinaAltorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Kia ora! We appreciate and love reading reviews like this! Thank you for choosing to visit our newest experience - Whaka Geothermal Trails. Our landscape truly is something else, the mud pools geysers and steaming vents all add to the village along with the birds and trees! It is really an experience you should not miss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

The Living Maori Village is a portal to the history and traditions of the indigenous people. It is one of the best cultural attraction with Maori dance and performance with a traditional feast.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Naina-Damani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Tena Koe, glad to hear that you enjoyed the village! We are so proud of cultural performance and our team are top-notch. We'll pass the comment to the team. Thank you so much for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

An impressive site powered by geothermal activity. It is once impressive for the landscape itself and twice impressive for the fact that it is a populated village where people get on with their lives by utilising the earth’s powers. We went on a self guided visit and enjoyed walking around the site. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2020
2  Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Kia ora!

We appreciate and love reading reviews like this!
We are very privileged to be the caretakers of this wonderland that is very unique to the world. It is even more special when you visitors such as yourself enjoy your experience with us, thank you for your support.

Whakarewarewa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

Interesting place, but I got bad luck for tour guide. From time to time I had difficulties to understand. Still it was interesting to learn about the village's history.
Part of my tour was one baked corn for free :-)

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank JaroslavNecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Kia ora, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry you found your guided tour disappointing, we'll pass this on to the team. Glad to hear you enjoyed the corn on the cob. Thank you for your support and we wish you and your family a happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews