We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
from US$105.99
More Info
from US$119.14
More Info
from US$67.66
More Info
from US$584.74
More Info
Reviews (2,672)
Filter reviews
2,672 results
Traveller rating
1,575
788
190
54
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,575
788
190
54
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour cultural show hangi pie maori village corn on the cob hangi lunch authentic experience geothermal activity hot springs te puia thermal pools great insight new zealand steam vents bubbling mud culture coins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,672 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2020

The Living Maori Village is a portal to the history and traditions of the indigenous people. It is one of the best cultural attraction with Maori dance and performance with a traditional feast.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Naina-Damani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Tena Koe, glad to hear that you enjoyed the village! We are so proud of cultural performance and our team are top-notch. We'll pass the comment to the team. Thank you so much for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020 via mobile

An impressive site powered by geothermal activity. It is once impressive for the landscape itself and twice impressive for the fact that it is a populated village where people get on with their lives by utilising the earth’s powers. We went on a self guided visit and enjoyed walking around the site. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2020
2  Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Kia ora!

We appreciate and love reading reviews like this!
We are very privileged to be the caretakers of this wonderland that is very unique to the world. It is even more special when you visitors such as yourself enjoy your experience with us, thank you for your support.

Whakarewarewa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

Interesting place, but I got bad luck for tour guide. From time to time I had difficulties to understand. Still it was interesting to learn about the village's history.
Part of my tour was one baked corn for free :-)

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank JaroslavNecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVTManagement, Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Kia ora, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry you found your guided tour disappointing, we'll pass this on to the team. Glad to hear you enjoyed the corn on the cob. Thank you for your support and we wish you and your family a happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2020

Probably one of the best experiences I had in New Zealand. The villagers were so welcoming and friendly. Went into one of the shops on site and I was talking to the owner for ages, could of spoke to her all day. I felt almost wrong to be bombarding in on their life like they deserve some privacy. But i guess this is the way they earn their living and keep their village going. You can't miss the live performance it is so touching and inspiring. I'm glad I went and privileged to be accepted in to look at their village and way of living. Thankyou !!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank O6866WZkatiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVT, The Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2020

Tena Koe O6866WZkatiej

Thank you for your fantastic review of Whakarewarewa – The Living Māori Village and your thoughts around feeling privileged to be accepted in to look at the village and way of life. We are a family-owned business and have been welcoming visitors for over 100 years, so we are extremely grateful for you taking time out of your day to spend it with us.

Taking a guided tour, or talking to the Villagers or shop owners is one of the best ways to gain valuable insight into our history and way of life. Our guides, who all whakapapa back to Whakarewarewa Village, are related to the guides who guided at the Pink and White Terraces in the 1800's.. They are knowledgeable, informative, fun and do love sharing stories of the past, and everyday life.

Educating our visitors is an important part of ensuring that the Māori history, culture and everyday life is preserved for future generations. We endeavour to do this with our guides telling of their legacy, as well as through our cultural performance group conveying this through waiata (song) and dance.

Kapai, thank-you again for spending some time with us. Stay safe, stay strong, and we would love to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Nga mihi nui
The Whakarewarewa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2020 via mobile

The visit started with a guided tour which was informal, anecdotal but enthusiastic and interesting. The Maori show was good and wandering around the village was interesting. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of experience: February 2020
3  Thank JJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WTVT, The Whakarewarewa Team at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2020

Kia ora JJJP

Thank you for taking the time to visit us at Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village and for sharing your thoughts with other travelers and Trip Advisor members. We are glad that you had such an interesting experience, and seeing you mention that it is "definitely worth a visit".

It is certainly a unique environment that we find ourselves in, of course, we love giving our manuhiri (visitors) the opportunity to experience a diverse range of geothermal wonders and our Maori culture in one place, something which is extremely unique in New Zealand and the world.

We are passionate about educating everyone about this uniqueness, and protecting it for future generations.

We would love to see you back sometime in the future. In the meantime, stay strong and stay safe.


Ngā mihi nui
The Whakarewarewa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews