We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Skyline Rotorua
from US$482.55
More Info
from US$825.61
More Info
Reviews (6,173)
Filter reviews
6,173 results
Traveller rating
3,794
1,894
370
69
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,794
1,894
370
69
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gondola ride sky swing great fun chair lift advanced track cable car scenic route jelly beans buffet lunch all ages wine tasting family pass a lot of fun zip lining mountain biking gondala intermediate
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 6,173 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2020

If you go to Rotorua you should not miss this! So much fun and adventure! Boring? NOT! You climb into the gondola, the door closes and then it starts up, up, up the mountain, no you can't get out until you reach the top! If you are scared of heights, then this ride will cure that problem. Once you get up there then ride the luge, take the 5 pass, you just start getting the hang of driving after the third ride down. Good food at the top also - there is also a hang glider you can take from the top to the bottom, and then get a free ride back up on the gondola. See! So much fun.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank leroy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Guest Relations Manager at Skyline Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Photos taken at gondola departure and Representative told us to pay 25 NZD and we would easily have access online. That is absolutely not the case!! Total rip off! You have to download some unknown url which is supposedly a questionaire to answer BEFORE you can acces your pictures. NEEDLESS to say....I am not downloading a url from some random site on to my computer. DO not buy the "online photo access" it is a scam!!!

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Pioneer394144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Guest Relations Manager at Skyline Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

I am sorry to hear of your experience. I will pass your comment on to the photo team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

My wife and I went for the gondola ride, buffet dinner and stargazing experience.
The gondola ride was good, going for dinner meant no queues for the 19:15 ride which was a bonus!

There was a buffet dinner, excellent choice for all three courses, hot food was hot and everything was tasty, which is not always the case at these type of places.

We had a table with a good view over the lake and city, though there isn’t a lot to see, but still very pleasant.

The Stargazing experience was the highlight for me it started at 9:30, luckily we had a clear night.
Our guides/astronomers were excellent lots of good info for us and questions answered. We got a summary of the night’s sky and the visible stars. They had 3 telescopes which were positioned for us to view distant stars and nebulas.
We had a full moon which was a negative in some respects but was good to view through the telescope.

If you are not into astronomy or find Brian Cox boring then don’t do this otherwise a great 1.5 hours.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank tonykenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Guest Relations Manager at Skyline Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

That is absolutely wonderful to hear! I'm so glad you had a great night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Went up the gondola for dinner with a friend, staff were amazing friendly and couldn’t help us enough.. we had a beautiful table next to the window. Food was awesome! Huge selection and really tasty. Would definitely go back well worth the money. Thankyou

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank knbrown24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Guest Relations Manager at Skyline Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Great to hear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Downhill Mountain biking is so much fun! It's fun for families but I suggest you have full face helmets and knee pads, just incase you miscalculate corners.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank StaceyF1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skylinerotorua, Guest Relations Manager at Skyline Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

That is great advice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews