We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Tamaki Maori Village
from US$102.41
More Info
from US$303.40
More Info
Reviews (5,404)
Filter reviews
5,404 results
Traveller rating
3,892
1,056
292
93
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,892
1,056
292
93
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus driver maori culture cultural experience new zealand great night pavlova different aspects hangi feast welcoming ceremony lamb whole evening picked up from our hotel fun evening singing and dancing ask questions great insight laksa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 5,404 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2021

I'm still buzzing from Tamaki's new twilight experience on Saturday night! It was such a creative and personal approach to connecting visitors to the Māori culture, particularly for those of us from New Zealand who are not necessarily seeing it for the first time. I felt like I was a guest of the family and loved the chance to chat and sing around the campfire with them at the end of the night. The food was delicious and the interactive 'Puku Burger' making followed by all the canapes in the forest was one of the most memorable dining experiences I've had in a while. Loved it!

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank joraho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Sales Manager at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Kia ora, thanks so much for reviewing our twilight experience Makue! Kai E! So glad to hear you enjoyed your expeirence with us! Nga mihi - Tamaki whānau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

We took the Twilight Experience, wondering what to expect because it was new. Our group ranged from babies to older adults - was it suitable for all of us? From the pickup at our motel to our return everyone had a wonderful time, far exceeding all expectations.

Because of how this smaller scale operation was run we felt like we'd been transported to another realm to join this 'other culture' family. Our evening was one of song, dance, games, making and eating food, and talking, with a family who are passionate about their history and culture.

All of our group had a ball and without exception would love to go again.

Date of experience: December 2020
3  Thank MrSteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Sales Manager at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Kia ora, thanks so much for taking the time to review us, it was our pleasure to host your group and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Nga mihi - Tamaki whānau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020

I think we were one of the first groups to try the new kai experience at Tamaki Maori Village and wow, the food was absolutely fantastic, burgers were out of this world - incredibly tasty, guides were top notch and so friendly, we felt absolutely welcomed and comfortable in their home.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaki-Maori-Village, Sales Manager at Tamaki Maori Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Kia ora Laura, thanks so much for taking the time to review us, so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Tamaki Māori Village, Nga mihi - Tamaki whānau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020

As a tourist you show up and you're excited and nervous about meeting people from different backgrounds, and when you're a guest in a traditional Maori setting, it is even more special to learn directly from the Indigenous families themselves. It was so much fun as well as educational, including the traditional welcome, the haka, the different types of technologies, and the super delicious dinner. Even though I know what to expect the next time I go, I for sure would want to go back at a different time of year to see the difference in fall for example.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank kcdenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2020

Authentic and fun. Dinner and Cultural Experience were both well organized and interesting. Appreciate the friendliness and welcoming nature of the people here.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank O3946EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews