We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Tamaki Maori Village
from US$97.46
More Info
from US$142.46
More Info
from US$79.41
More Info
from US$295.43
More Info
Reviews (5,439)
Filter reviews
5,439 results
Traveller rating
3,924
1,059
292
93
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,924
1,059
292
93
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus driver maori culture cultural experience new zealand great night pavlova different aspects hangi feast welcoming ceremony lamb whole evening picked up from our hotel fun evening singing and dancing ask questions great insight laksa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 5,439 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2019 via mobile

Loved this tour. It was so much fun to be included and take part in the cultural experience, not just watch it. Definitely take the bus trip, it was a great way to start and finish. The meal was hearty and delicious.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank scc749
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

Went for the tour and dinner. A wonderful experience to get an understanding of the culture. Each station explained another activity and element of the Maori. Everything was in period and interactive. Even dinner was traditional andcooked as the Maori would have.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank 621donaldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2019

We attended the show and hangi... and loved everything about it. My cousins from the UK also thought it was wonderful and very informative with regards to the Maori culture. A great learning experience.
We loved the hangi...beautifully cooked.
Well worth the money and we would take any overseas visitors to this evening.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 775gilvray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2019

We really enjoyed this experience. You have to accept that it is showing you how native tribes lived years ago and not how it is now. Therefore it is a staged event. We started by being split into groups and rotating through several stations each of which showed a different aspect of Maori life. Then a performance of songs, stick throwing etc. The dancing and singing were excellent with great harmonies. It ended with a Haka. Then a meal of chicken, lamb, lots of local veg. Food at large events can be poor but this was good. Coach drivers and hosts ended with singing. Overall an excellent and enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2019 via mobile

This was an excellent introduction to the culture and traditions of the Maori. Everyone was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Food was much better than expected and plentiful. Tutorials and demonstrations were fun and informative
Highly recommend

Thank Suet910
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews