We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Tamaki Maori Village
from US$91.43
More Info
from US$112.53
More Info
from US$737.78
More Info
Reviews (4,750)
Filter reviews
4,750 results
Traveller rating
3,397
955
259
81
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,397
955
259
81
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus driver cultural experience new zealand sing song great night kia ora maori village pavlova different aspects hangi feast welcoming ceremony lamb whole evening picked up from our hotel food was amazing fun evening potatoes
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 4,750 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I agreed later that the visit to the Tamake Maori village was a great event. We were thoroughly entertained, we learned quite a bit about the culture of this interesting group, and we had a fantastic meal at the end of it. Even the bus driver who transported us to the event added to the evenings entertainment and help bond the tour group for the evening. A great choice for the tourist in New Zealand who wants to understand the Maori culture

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Dlf38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After some bad reviews here I was very surprised how awesome and well organized this evening was. We got picked up from our camp side (which was good be because he have a big campervan) to the main office where we got into another bus which drove us then to the village. Our driver was a very funny guy but less is more ;-) for my opinion he talked and entertained a little too much. Although we had a funny time. However even when it's good organized - we were too many people. 4 busses (approx. 140 ppl) are way too much.
The village itself was very nice, the shows were fantastic and the food was very good the souvenir shop was a little sad (I expected more handmade souvenirs - the things in this shop are the commercial ones you can get everywhere in Rotorua)

All in all I can recommand this place. It's worth a visit

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 647yavanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The welcome ceremony is worth filming, with sound of course. Keeping up with your chief ensures that you don’t miss any of the talks and demonstrations. Take lots of photographs and videos, especially if you are over 70 as you won’t remember everything! Try and sit at a banquet table to the right of the entrance to be first to eat BUT no need to worry as there is plenty of food for seconds! Leave room for the dessert though. The “show” in the hall is really good with some amazing singers and dancers. A fantastic way to learn about the Maori culture.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Flyingbeauty1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great way to learn more about the Maoris and their lifestyle. Throughout an evening (from pick-up at 5 to 9) you participate in different activities and get a full meal. It was fun and there were some great Kodak-moments.
Coming in high-season it was a bit overcrowded for my taste (making it slightly stressful) and we might question the authencity of the dinner with English mint-sause and Spanish alioli with a desert of Pavlova. Is this what the Maoris ate traditionally? Also there were too many activities (and slightly embarassing moments) during the bus drive - let people just relax (if you ask me).

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank TravellingDane1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A fantastic evening from beginning to end, the coach driver was a real "character", amusing and engaging without being over the top. On arriving at the village the experience was superb and very informative - learning about Maori culture - oh and the hangi cooked food was spectacular. Well organised and everyone was engaged and interested.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews