We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$1,065
View deal
Booking.comUS$1,067
TravelocityUS$1,065
Hotels.comUS$1,065
PricelineUS$1,067
Orbitz.comUS$1,065
eDreamsUS$1,067
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
180
21
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
21
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake tarawera world class food natural hot pools fly fishing executive suite our entire stay thermal springs three night stay thoroughly enjoyed our stay wayne luxury hosts tariff privacy lakeside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2021 via mobile

What an amazing experience with the hosts and great chefs! Went fly fishing that was a load of fun. The food is awesome. The rooms beautifully. I will definitely recommend this to anyone and would want to come back again and again. The lake is great.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kingston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2021

Chose to spend 3 nights here with our teen/young adult sons when our family trip to Oz was cancelled due to covid. Location great- fab views and warm, spacious, very comfortable room. All inclusive tariff suited us perfectly - such a treat after a day of activity to come back to the lodge and chill/ be looked after. Wayne and Ingrid very welcoming and relaxed hosts, Michael -service exceptional. Thanks so much!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank StaceRAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Luxurious lodge nestled in native bush with stunning lake views. Our hosts and their staff made our three night stay comfortable and enjoyable. With chefs that were of European standard the food and service were world class and anything we asked for was delivered to extremely high standards. Our executive suite had everything we needed and more. Gorgeous views from every room even from the sumptuous bath tub. We left not wanting to leave, very refreshed and relaxed.
The catamaran cruise to the natural hot pools and the bush walks were fantastic. Winter or summer this hidden gem is a definite must to experience.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Taylor_Flashpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2021

We certainly weren't the easiest guests travelling with an energetic 3 year old but we were treated like royalty by Ingrid, Wayne and all the friendly staff at Solitaire Lodge. From the stunning lake views in our room (photos do not do it justice); to the comfortable beds. The 5 course dinner menu was up there with The French Cafe. And as we had a toddler it was brought right to our suite! (They even made macaroni cheese and hot chocolate for our little one!). Staff were so accommodating without being intrusive. We enjoyed the boat tour to the hot pool. Travelling with a young child can be tiring but we really feel we had a fantastic break. Thank you so much and we hope to visit again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Iduck1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2021

We looked at many venues for our small family wedding of 16 people around Lake Tarawera and the Solitaire Lodge was our first choice. Wayne, Ingrid, Michael and the team certainly did not disappoint and we cannot be more complimentary about the level of service, the adherence to every detail we requested for the wedding guests including specific dietary requirements, the world class food and drinks and the friendly can-do attitude when responding to our many requests during our stay. The Solitaire went above and beyond our expectations on all occasions including providing support at 3am for my elderly father who fell ill and required special assistance, and sending their Lodge boat out to deliver delicacies to our charter vessel when we forgot these food items. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone attending in our party was extremely impressed and had a fantastic time. The Lodge itself has spectacular views from all rooms, a warm and comforting lounge area, lake activities available, and an efficient and friendly dining area with superb food and my family and I have no hesitation in recommending the Solitaire Lodge to anyone visiting the Tarawera area. My new wife and I are already planning our first wedding anniversary there. Thank you Wayne and Ingrid for a truly memorable experience of the best kind!

Room tip: All rooms have fantastic elevated views of Lake Tarawera
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OnAir380667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews