We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$1,201
View Deal
Hotels.com
US$1,203
View Deal
Trip.com
US$1,169
View Deal
Snaptravel
Expedia.comUS$1,203
CheapTicketsUS$1,203
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
173
21
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
173
21
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake tarawera new zealand divine food other guests wonderful hosts rooms are spacious two nights breakfast and dinner couple of nights living area thoroughly enjoyed our stay thermal pools wayne suite luxury promontory lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

We can only echo the previous reviews- stunning scenery, lovely ambience, divine food and fantastic, friendly and dedicated staff. Ingrid and Wayne should be very proud of the retreat they have created. They have focussed on adding to a wonderful stay with so many small details that made for a truly relaxing and pleasurable stay. The only thing they couldn’t provide was a fish from the lake when we attempted to fish ourselves! We wish them all the best as it is well deserved.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020

We had a very nice time at the Solitaire lodge and we did appreciate the warm welcome and the kindness of every member of the staff over there.
And there is a lot to do everywhere around, which they will kindly organize for you.

But whatever is announced, it is not really a top comfort and luxury place, due the place getting old . There is no doubt that it needs some refreshing and refurbishing or it may soon run far behind the exquisite lodges that one can find in New Zealand

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KUSNACHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Had a team of high performers spend a night at Solitaire Lodge. Wayne and his team, Michael on the bar and John on the boat were welcoming and available. The surrounds are stunning. Views over Lake Tarawera first thing in the morning with a mist on the water were stuff paintings are made of. Food is devine! Thanks team!

Room tip: Go for the suites!
Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 526Karen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

Right from the minute the gates open a warm welcome awaits and you have the feeling of being somewhere quite special. Wayne and Ingrid are wonderful hosts and as you walk into your suite; the most amazing views and feeling of tranquility greet you. A walk around the grounds to the native bird song and privately kept grounds overlooking Lake Tarawera is instant relaxation. The rooms are luxurious and very well appointed. The food is outstanding - cleverly created in the almost open kitchen and the dining and lounge areas maximise the wonderful views. The staff exceptional, knowledgeable and friendly in a professional manner. We have hosted a corporate group of achievers annually at Solitaire for the past three years and without exception they have been effusive in their praise . Hospitality plus at a Luxury Lodge that lives up to its name.

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 965allisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2020

We had high expectations - it is after all a luxury lodge. Our expectations were exceeded on our two night stay. The building is not from one of the classic eras but it is beautifully presented. Our room was so comfortable and spacious with a stunning view over the lake. We spend most of the day in the room it was so nice. The food is just outstanding. Dan (sous chef) presented some of the most innovative and tasty dishes we have ever experienced, Michael served the perfect cocktail and Monica prepared the perfect breakfast - served by Joy. Wayne and Ingrid have assembled a dream team to pamper guests. If you have any opportunity to visit Solitaire for a couple of nights - take it!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews