We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$228
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Priceline
$207
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$182
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Miranda

Nice historic hotel.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2024
The main reception and dining areas have a lovely ambiance and great staff. The room was a bit tired. Great location for Government Gardens and nearby Eat Street. Outside tables a lovely spot for a couple of Happy Hour drinks before going for dinner.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Room Division Manager, Other at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 27 Mar 2024
Dear Miranda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will keep improving our services. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Large Studio
Booking.com
$118
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $111
  • Hotels.com
    $116
  • Priceline
    $118
2.1 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$281
  • Vio.com
    $281
  • Expedia.com
    $281
  • Priceline
    $281
0.2 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Pool at the Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Booking.com
$322
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $322
  • Hotels.com
    $316
  • Priceline
    $322
2.3 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Booking.com
$169
  • ibis
    $169
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Priceline
    $169
0.5 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Restaurant
Booking.com
$315
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $315
  • Official Site
    $240
  • Expedia.com
    $315
0.4 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Booking.com
$199
  • Novotel
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Priceline
    $199
0.5 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$259
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $260
  • Priceline
    $239
  • Hotel Website
    $259
2.8 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$225
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Agoda.com
    $195
  • Expedia.com
    $225
11.6 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$175
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $175
  • StayForLong
    $164
  • Expedia.com
    $175
0.6 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $115
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $109
3.3 km from Prince's Gate Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Rotorua
Reviews (1,311)
Filter reviews
1,311 results
Traveller rating
485
389
239
106
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
485
389
239
106
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews government gardens historic hotel designer room high tea hot pools main building new zealand polynesian spa eat street suite yesteryear fireplace furnishings foyer nz lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,311 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2024

We booked a designer room which was great with lots of space. The hotel is old but plenty of maintaining going on. We were at the end of the terrace which was quite quiet. The only problem was the floor boards creaked so the room down stairs from us would hear us walking around.It was in a good area with most things in walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024

There is a great atmosphere in this old hotel and the staff were overall very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated. Walking distance to lots of stuff. Free car park behind the hotel. We were upgraded because our initial room was really dark. The new room was lovely. However, the rooms could use some soundproofing. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast, though: cheap white bread, flavorless scrambled eggs and overall bland and uninspired food.

Room tip: There is no elevator. You need to carry your bags up the (long) stairs.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dream06312293439
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Lovely location and a real old word feel which isn't let down by poor quality. Friendly staff, and lovely room with comfortable large bed. Overlooking the street was still nice and quiet!
On the downside...No elevator, which for people with a lot of luggage was tough - also breakfast (if you pay separately), is crazy expensive - if you stay, make sure it is a part of your package! But it isn't much special

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NickW867
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024 via mobile

The history of this hotel is fascinating. The hotel is in an excellent location and walking distance to the restaurants on “Eat Street”, the Government Gardens, and Lake Rotorua shore. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We need to do a shoutout to Star who was the receptionist that checked us in. She was super helpful and friendly and made our stay even better.

The rooms are excellent although water pressure in the showers is a little low. There is an outdoor mineral hot pool set in a nice courtyard and also a private hot pool and sauna you can book at no extra charge.

The breakfast Buffett is good, there’s a well appointed bar as well. The veranda is an excellent place to sit on a warm day and watch the world go by. If you like historical, period buildings then you will love this place.

Room tip: There is free parking down the side street. Any other public parking is pay parking until 5pm.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ShaneH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Room Division Manager, Other at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2024

Dear Shane,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2024

Great spot right on the lake . a good place to stay if you're with your family .
The reception staff couldn't have been friendlier. really appreciate their efforts .Nice hotel, well appointed, and good buffet breakfast easy walk to and through the downtown area

Room tip: best serivice
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sajan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Room Division Manager, Other at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear Sajan,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews