We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike with a great naturalist/gujide”
Review of Foris Eco-Tours

Foris Eco-Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$243.17*
and up
Rotorua Bird Watching Adventure
Ranked #31 of 67 Tours in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore NZ's finest forest with us! We offer fun, educational nature experiences involving; - a full day hike in the world famous Whirinaki Forest or - fantastic bird watching adventures. Experience nature at its best with NZ's most expert natural history guides.
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Tom Lynch, the owner of Foris Ecotours, provides an abundance of information about New Zealand, the country, the people and the environment. The hike he takes you on in the Whirinaki Forest is through a beautiful forest filled with ferns, and because the forest is not so easy to find, you can rest assured you are not going to see many other people on the trail. I can't imagine you could get a better tour guide than Tom.

Thank don d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"new zealand"
in 16 reviews
"kaka"
in 4 reviews
"takahe"
in 3 reviews
"hike"
in 5 reviews
"forest"
in 24 reviews
"conservation"
in 4 reviews
"sanctuary"
in 2 reviews
"birds"
in 8 reviews
"flora"
in 2 reviews
"nz"
in 8 reviews
"opportunities"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2016

This all day tour was one of our highlights of 3 weeks in New Zealand including 2 weeks on South Island. Tom took care of everything and was a joy to be with for the day. Hiking through the old trees in Whirinaki Rainforest was spectacular and unlike any forest we had hiked in all of New Zealand and had it all to ourselves. Then onto rafting on the Rangitaiki river for second half of tour with some exciting rapids and beautiful rainforest scenery and again no other tourists anywhere. Two special places and great ways to see and experience this one of a kind place on earth. A day we will remember for a lifetime. Thanks Tom.
Richard and Tonya

Thank rtconk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom l, Owner at Foris Eco-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thanks for your kind words we are blessed to operate in some truly stunning parts of "God's Own" country, New Zealand. It is nice to explore an untouched part of the planet! Happy Travels,
Tom Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

I spent a truly enjoyable day birding with Tom highlighted by our visit to the Mt. Maungatautari Sanctuary. An easy going guy, he is clearly passionate about the restoration efforts, including for the kakahe, and opportunities for educating students. We visited a variety of habitats and were able to see many different bird species. Lunch with the pukekos was memorable. If you have a chance to go out with Tom, don't miss it. I am anxious to go back.

Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom l, Owner at Foris Eco-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Hi Jim

Thanks for the kind words. We saw a whio on Wednesday and have hosted 600 students ra ginger from 5 to 17 over the last 2 weeks.oozing forward to my next birding adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Three of us spent a day with Tom Lynch of Foris Eco-Tours finding birds we particularly wanted to see. It was a memorable day with a wonderful sighting of a family of Whio (Blue Duck), a New Zealand Dabchick, a (distant) Yellow-crowned Kakariki, and various others that were all on our "must see if we can" list. A visit to beautiful Whirinaki Forest, where we saw the Kakariki, was a special experience, as was the area in Tongariro National Park.

A great day out, tailored to our requirements. Tom collected us from our accommodation, provided lunch, and returned us home at the end of the day.

Thank Eleanor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom l, Owner at Foris Eco-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Thanks for your kind words Eleanor. All the best with your birding adventures.
Warm regards, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We recently took a school group of Year 5/6 pupils to Maungatautari where Tom was our educator. He had the children and adults alike enthralled at his knowledge and interest in the preservation of our New Zealand wildlife and forests. It was a good reminder of how precious our New Zealand flora and fauna is. We loved the day we spent with him and wish it could have been longer. I would highly recommend his tours to anybody.

Thank arnt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom l, Owner at Foris Eco-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Thanks for the kind words, Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foris Eco-Tours also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Foris Eco-Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing