We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Volcanic Air tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Volcanic Air
from US$441.60
More Info
from US$135.60
More Info
from US$650.20
More Info
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
211
10
3
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
10
3
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews active volcano white island float plane helicopter trip mt tarawera scenic flight great pilot live volcano air safaris minute flight pilot guide gas mask the black swan experienced pilot once in a lifetime bucket list incredible trip
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Loved our helicopter tour with Johno. We loved everything about this trip. Completely exceeded our expectations. What a memorable experience, with a fantastic staff and pilot! Awesome! Below is our pilot in the craterand us

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank lorif438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Lori,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful time and we're so happy you have memories that will last a lifetime.
Many Thanks,
The Volcanic Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We took tour ‘3A’, visiting Mount Tarawera and flying over the Waimangu Thermal Valley. Our pilot was knowledgeable, giving a comprehensive (and amusing) description of the features we flew over. We’d visited some of these areas, so it was great to see them from another angle. I’d recommend this tour as a good balance of time, cost and interest.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank I8704VJdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We have been to White Island by boat. It was a reasonable day, but many were sea sick.
We wanted to take our grandson so booked a flight with Volcanic Air. Not cheap, but well worth it, a fantastic day, great view from the air. Our pilot was knowledgable and friendly.
White Island is a really fantastic experience and worth the effort and money.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank purfkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, other at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate feedback from our tours! It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your trip and time with us :)

Kind regards,
The Volcanic Air Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the float plane trip over Mt Tarawera and back into Rotorua, can highly recommend this as a treat.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Waltersj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We believe this trip offers great views of some of Rotorua's highlights and we're so happy we were able to share these with you.

Thank you again!
The Volcanic Air Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

We took a helicopter to White Island, which is an incredible volcano. This is the coolest experience I've ever had (and I've had some really awesome excursions before). Our pilot, Addy, was also our tour guide on the island. She was just as knowledgeable as a vulcanoligist. She has been guiding on the island for many years and see how the volcano constantly changes. She was friendly, patient and interesting, and obviously loves her job. Thank you for a once in a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank dkgrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA_Rotorua, Front Office Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Volcanic Air, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for leaving us a great review that we can share with your pilot. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the volcano as much as we do! We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Rotorua and learnt a thing or two during your time with us :)

Many Thanks!
The Volcanic Air Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews