We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
amigadelmondo
Alberta, Canada

Old, dated, room needed upgrades but clean

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jan 2016
Another 'last chance motel' as Rotorua was fully booked early March. We were disappointed the sulphur baths were closed but, as noted below, there was smoke coming out the chimney. This motel was a lesson in total indifference to guests. Hitchcock would've liked it. Family members came and went from the reception area, some to peruse the bookshelf (good selection of French books - family from New Caledonia), or just to pass by/in/out. Eventually, a very nice young woman sorted us out, showed us to our room and that was that. I was rather shocked at the overall condition of the motel but the bedding and bath towels were very clean and almost brand new, so for one night, we tried to ignore the 'cosmetics' of our room. Breakfast was provided on site, again no one in sight to check anything, a very strange experience. The young woman who checked us in strongly recommended the Mitai Mauri Village dinner and kindly booked us in. We were glad we went, it was very good. We were even gladder to leave Rotorua early the following morning, somewhat a let down, especially as tourists have to pay to see all the major geothermal stuff, that was too weird.... We expected it all to be a National Treasure?? With hindsight, should've kept on driving past Rotorua to Mt Maunganui.Good advice!
Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior view
$189
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Novotel
    $189
1.2 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
Garden
$126
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Priceline
    $119
12.7 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$156
  • Priceline
    $156
  • StayForLong
  • Prestigia.com
4.3 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $295
  • Agoda.com
    $276
  • Priceline
    $295
1.2 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Rotorua Central
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $239
  • Vio.com
    $239
  • Hotels.com
    $239
0.5 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $181
  • Official Site
    $181
  • Priceline
    $181
1.2 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $233
  • Vio.com
    $233
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Priceline
    $163
1.0 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $154
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
En-Suite Log Cabins
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $64
  • Priceline
    $105
2.3 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Rotorua
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
30
38
4
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
38
4
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2015

This motel is in need of a facelift and some TLC. I am not sure where the "taste of New Caledonia " comes in..? French furnished rooms, ours was in dire need of an update with dated paint, windows that didnt shut properly in the kitchen, no toilet roll holder, or milk in the fridge if we wanted to make a hot drink. There were two cockroaches - one above the bed and one in the kitchen. The only person we saw in reception was a young girl ( a kiwi) . The thermal pools were out of order, but the outdoor one was slightly warm for my kids to swim in. The breakfast was not great- the percolated coffee was very weak and luke warm so I boiled the jug to make instant but the tap water tasted as if it had come from the pool. The dining area was dark and not very clean. Overall the place needs a good cleanup- windows were very dirty and planter boxes had dead plants in them. Checking out involved leaving your room key in a shoebox on the unmanned counter at reception. One positive thing was the room was warm, and bed comfortable. But this is not enough for me to stay again.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank meggy587
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Good large room, good layout, liked having the separate kitchen with a patio, didn't have the breakfast, but it looked set up nicely. Quiet and handy to everything. The young lady on the desk was friendly and helpful.

Pool was out of order, i didnt mind, but a family may have chosen this hotel for that reason, Poor WiFi, Kitchen and bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly (the floors at all?) - had to wash a cup &spoon to have a cuppa, no milk in fridge - which would have been good to know before we got in at 10.30pm, rubbish bin was oddly placed in the middle of the kitchen door way, so opened the door and nearly tripped over it and blinds were broken in the kitchen, so just kept the door closed. Not deal breakers, but just needing a bit more attention.

This was a last minute booking for me, $110 a night is reasonable if everything was up to a better standard. I would, however, stay here again, in the hopes it was a one off.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corinat147
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We stayed 2 night for Easter holiday.
The room we stayed at was so big and enough for two, and the hosts were so friendly.
Unfortunately, a private hot pool was under construction, so I couldn't enjoy it though outdoor hot pool was ok.
And the room was not cleaned properly, some bugs and cockroaches ware in a kitchen and bathroom and someone's hairs ware found, one of plate was not clean as the previous guests didn't wash cleanly.
This motel is close to shopping mall, so very handy.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mitsu968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We were 5 single ladies and upon arrival we discovered we had been given a unit with 2 single beds and one double. We were then given a room with 2 double beds and one single. Therefore, 4 of us shred 2 double beds and the overseas visitor had the single.

The kitchen had just 3 pots - two of which had been badly burned on the bottom - we discovered why when we found one element on the stove did not work at all while another had only one temperature - full-on! Perhaps explaining the circle shape melted into the floor tile in the kitchen.

The utensils were sadly lacking, as we had just 3 forks but hey we had 7 knives!

The part of the kitchen blind you turn to open and shut the blinds was detached and lying on the windowsill. The kitchen bin was smallest I have ever seen in a motel unit.

We were given no milk for the kitchen and the complimentary breakfast did not look like the one in the photos. Three cereal choices, no fruit, 2 spreads for the toast, a choice of grain or white bread, 2 choices of juice and tea/coffee.

However, the beds were comfortable and the outdoor, heated pool looked clean. Plus the location is excellent - still for what we paid I would have expected something not as tired and with so many faults.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butbut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2015

we required a motel within walking distance of Rotorua town in order to walk to a restaurant for dinner.
I have had many experiences of Motels in New Zealand however nothing prepared me for this.
On arrival I was advised that their on site Thermal baths were closed, however the sulphurous heat & smoke was still pumping out of the chimney .

The remainder of Rotorua was free of smell.

This was not the main problem , The room ( # 18) was decrepit , the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly for some time, the mirrors silver backing had disintegrated . The curtains were see through and as all the outside lights were on all night , sleep was difficult. The refrigerator was a block of dirty ice
We we returned from dinner we discovered that the bathroom & kitchen lights did not work.

The " continental breakfast" was tea/coffee , toast & jams , packet juice

On checking out & wishing to report these deficiencies , , was advised the owner was cleaning & did not have time

Room tip: choose other accommodation
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews