We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Butbut01
Auckland

Less than average

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2015
We were 5 single ladies and upon arrival we discovered we had been given a unit with 2 single beds and one double. We were then given a room with 2 double beds and one single. Therefore, 4 of us shred 2 double beds and the overseas visitor had the single.

The kitchen had just 3 pots - two of which had been badly burned on the bottom - we discovered why when we found one element on the stove did not work at all while another had only one temperature - full-on! Perhaps explaining the circle shape melted into the floor tile in the kitchen.

The utensils were sadly lacking, as we had just 3 forks but hey we had 7 knives!

The part of the kitchen blind you turn to open and shut the blinds was detached and lying on the windowsill. The kitchen bin was smallest I have ever seen in a motel unit.

We were given no milk for the kitchen and the complimentary breakfast did not look like the one in the photos. Three cereal choices, no fruit, 2 spreads for the toast, a choice of grain or white bread, 2 choices of juice and tea/coffee.

However, the beds were comfortable and the outdoor, heated pool looked clean. Plus the location is excellent - still for what we paid I would have expected something not as tired and with so many faults.
Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$387
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$185
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.7 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
$164
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $283
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $469
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $189
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large Studio
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $113
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $219
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
Aquatic Centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Booking.com
5.8 km from Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Rotorua
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
30
38
4
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
38
4
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2015

we required a motel within walking distance of Rotorua town in order to walk to a restaurant for dinner.
I have had many experiences of Motels in New Zealand however nothing prepared me for this.
On arrival I was advised that their on site Thermal baths were closed, however the sulphurous heat & smoke was still pumping out of the chimney .

The remainder of Rotorua was free of smell.

This was not the main problem , The room ( # 18) was decrepit , the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly for some time, the mirrors silver backing had disintegrated . The curtains were see through and as all the outside lights were on all night , sleep was difficult. The refrigerator was a block of dirty ice
We we returned from dinner we discovered that the bathroom & kitchen lights did not work.

The " continental breakfast" was tea/coffee , toast & jams , packet juice

On checking out & wishing to report these deficiencies , , was advised the owner was cleaning & did not have time

Room tip: choose other accommodation
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

Very cold place but a peaceful and silent but the good thing is it is nearby with Countdown supermarket which open until midnight and make us easier to find some fresh milk,bread,fruits and seafood. The wifi coverage is limited where we must go outside to access the internet. The plus point staying in this motel is breakfast provided. From Malaysia tourist- Hilmi family.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hilmi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. The place was well maintained (rooms, flower beds, hot pools), very clean and many little details showed that the managers care for their customers. We appreciated the free breakfast and the service offered at reception. This motel is a bit older, some pieces of furniture, although still fully operational, could do with a replacement. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: We were in room 5 and it was nice and quiet.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank frognz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed during the Labour weekend together with friends. We booked 3 rooms in total. Nothing special about the room. When we came in the gas heater was already on, could not turn it off. We informed the lady at the reception about the gas heater before we went out to buy dinner and it was already turned off when we came back. If your looking for budget motel, Sequoia is great place. Clean and tidy and spacious. And pretty near Oppies Takeaway, Pak N save and Countdown so location was excellence.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froilan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had to stay here as I hadn't booked anything decent and Rotorua had filled up for Labour Weekend. Place was clean, just dated, tv at roof height, shower had low water pressure, no ice. Door lock was a bit dodgy and lots of street noise. They charged my card as soon as I arrived, always a bad sign. Only charged me 110 bucks instead of 130, so that's the only good thing about my stay. Reception lady was cold.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CameronTWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen F, Manager at Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Good Afternoon, thank you for your feedback,
We are very sorry that you felt your stay with us not satisfactory.
as you can understand labour day is always busy in Rotorua, we have received so many guests in three days, so all apologises if you felt that our welcoming was a little bit cold, we always aim to make our guests welcome.
we require payment for a one night stay which is a standard practice, especially on this week end sometimes, guests are in a rush and they don't fill the check in form properly .
but we're very happy that you have enjoyed the discount .
we hope to see you again in Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews