We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant (diner) place, with good food.”

Charlotte’s Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 52 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $35
Description: Charlotte’s Kitchen established in 2015 brings a fresh approach to dining – with a killer view right at the end of the Wharf in Paihia, Bay of Islands.
Restaurant details
Description: Charlotte’s Kitchen established in 2015 brings a fresh approach to dining – with a killer view right at the end of the Wharf in Paihia, Bay of Islands.
Reviewed 19 May 2024

Delicious (fresh fish) dinner; very nice staff (even a very friendly guy with a little "touch" of Dutch.) Nice ice-cream dessert and even pleasant life music.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geeske K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2024

Really nice food, amazing location and lovely live music ! Would definitely recommend for dinner!
The staff was lovely as well

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank AurianeF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2024

I phoned in an organized a table for 8 on Wednesday their dumpling night. I was told we couldn't get in at 6:00 for Dumplings but 6:30, which I accepted. I specifically told the person on the phone that we were coming in for dumpling night. She accepted the reservation and told me they serve until 8:30. There was no mention of first come, first serve, dumpling limits or availability. The 8 of us placed our dumpling orders at 6:55 which were a mix of prawn and pork and mushroom and cabbage. The waiter returned to say that they were out of prawn and pork and there were only 40 mushroom left (5 per person instead of 10). Subsequently we had to order from the a la carte menu. The menu is expensive and we were only in for dumplings and drinks. We've been on other occasions and ordered from their menu. We were left thinking that this was the restaurant's modus operandi all along. All 8 people are local to the community and we were let feeling duped. I was embarrassed because I had organized the evening with friends. The evening ended with us all spending more than originally planned. Too late to leave and go somewhere else. Waiter was very friendly and provided great service. The mushroom dumplings were very tasty! We will go back, but we'll be first in the door @ 5:30!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynneK316
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2024

Hubby and I had a wonderful dining experience last night starting with the delicious pork dumplings which were the nights special. The dumplings were perfectly cooked and the dipping sauce had just the right amount of heat! We followed with the pork knuckle which was beautifully cooked and was complemented perfectly by the creamy coleslaw and parmesan sprinkled fries. The only thing I would change would be to make the fries steak fries as shoestring fries cool quickly, and can be a little tasteless! The service was exactly right, and it was a lovely night all round. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sussan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2024 via mobile

Fabulous place for a great meal
We went for diner last night
Our welcome was sincere
We were taken to our table
The waiter was spectacular amazing knowledge
Friendly and very happy to share ideas
She was a jam really
Our food was scrumptious
with her recommended wines
We ask her also where to go in Russell and again was able to describe all we were king to go
Don’t loose her she is priceless and will return

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank mje0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Charlotte’s Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Charlotte’s Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.