We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Hotels.com
$167
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$138
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
glennomeister
Wellington, New Zealand

Always a great stay

Review of Ala Moana Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024
I'm still yet to stay anywhere else when in Paihia. There's no need. Ala Moana is awesome, right across the road from the beach, and practically right next door to town centre. John has been the manager for my last three visits and is great.

Unbelievably for the second visit in a row when intending to stay in the room up the back (which is the biggest room, separate bedroom, and is raised higher than the others with a small-but-big-enough concrete) I made a mistake in the room booking. This time I had the dates out by one day. Fortunately there was availability in one of the other rooms the first night, so it could be arranged to split the stay across two rooms.

I've now completed the set at Ala Moana - staying in each of the four room types. Three rooms are unique, those are the ones with direct sea views, and six units.

My partner and I are very much reducing our amount of travel (especially by flying) after this year but visiting the wonderful Bay of Islands, staying at the wonderful Ala Moana Motel, means we will be back!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $143
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $150
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
$282
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $282
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Priceline
    $282
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $120
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Expedia.com
    $120
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest Room Private Hot Tub
Tripadvisor
$412
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $119
  • Priceline
    $140
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
    $165
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
$113
  • Priceline
    $95
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Vio.com
    $95
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$228
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Priceline
    $228
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$154
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $112
  • Agoda.com
    $109
  • Expedia.com
    $139
1.0 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
60
35
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
35
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great location small patio plunger coffee minute walk to shops hot water one night beach towels the owner manager shops and restaurants new zealand main town central location one bedroom apartment within walking distance great facilities close to town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2023

We loved our comfy room, watched the Paihia Xmas parade from our patio. Walkable to everything in Paihia! John is the best host, very hands on, helped us book "Hole in the Rock" and snagged a discount for us.

Room tip: Room 7 is excellent!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank couchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2023

Very neat clean and tidy. Great location on beach front, restaurant and shopping nearby. Parking good. We had the front unit which was close to the road but it was surprisingly quiet. Very pleasant host.

Room tip: We used the outside table inside for a snacks and drinks table while watching the ABs on TV.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 651dianey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Ala Moana for a month (mid-February to mid-March) and were very happy with this accommodation.

John is a marvelous, friendly, helpful host, and he and staff member William keep the units clean, fresh, and comfortable. The daily service was more than we needed, but they always checked and offered. John accommodated our requests and went out of his way to be sure we had everything we needed. He even ordered a couple of beach chairs so we could sit in the shade at the beach! (YES! This beach has shade, some benches, and calm, peaceful, protected waters. Whether first thing in the morning or later in the day, it makes for a delightful refreshing swim!)

The location directly across from the beach and at most a 5-minute walk to shops, the wharf, and restaurants, was perfect! Some have mentioned the bar next door. Even though it looks like a fun, local place, we knew there was live music some nights, and we wondered if noise would be a problem. At least from our location in #3, noise was NEVER an issue. It was perfectly quiet.

We had a one-bedroom apartment with a kitchenette (no oven or freezer) (unit #3). The bed is very comfortable, the area is spacious, the basics for cooking and dining are provided. (I should note that we didn’t really cook at all, but we brought things in for breakfasts, lunches, and snacks and ate there frequently.) There was a comfy sitting area for reading, doing projects, playing games, enjoying wine and cheese, or watching TV. The decor was simple and tasteful. For us, comfort trumps decor, so we weren’t looking for high-end interior design. Furnishings included a kitchen table with chairs, a coffee table in the sitting room, sofa, day bed, small patio table and chairs on the little deck, plus a fantastic view balcony patio overlooking the bay for shared use (which makes up for the fact that the unit’s deck faces the parking spots). Other shared amenities include washers, dryers, clothesline, ice.

Some things that make me especially happy: lots of storage (closets, drawers) to unpack everything, ample towel racks and hooks for wet linens, beach towels, bathing suits, shelves in the bathroom to organize toiletries, plenty of outlets for charging phones, laptop, etc. These are little touches that so many places lack and that greatly enhanced the convenience and enjoyment of our stay.

While most guests were there for one night to a few nights, we would definitely recommend it for a short or longer stay and hope to return for 1-2 months again!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2023

This accommodation exceeded our expectations! Originally, we were booked at an upmarket apartment that was 4x the price, decided to go for this place instead due to central location and value for money. We compared this place to our original booking and were not disappointed with our decision. The owner/manager of this property cannot do enough to ensure a great stay, working hard all day to maintain high standard, and advise on best options for tours etc. Great facilities like complimentary laundry, and 5min walk to central area & ferry wharf. Many Thanks for a great holiday!

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2022 via mobile

Had a great stay here, a warm welcome, also discounts offered for the local boat trips and restaurants when booked through owner. Room was comfortable and clean with small patio overlooking the small car park, but the bay is literally the otherside of the road, so you could sit on the beach. The kitchen area was well equipped and clean. The local countdown was only a 10 minute walk away. The main town was only a short walk away, as was the quayside for the ferries to the islands or Russell
Great place to stay and use as a base to explore

Room tip: Free parking right by your room
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Silverpensioners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews