We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MelbDin
Bentleigh East, Australia

Comfortable summer stay

Review of Ala Moana Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Dec 2022via mobile
This place offers everything you need for a comfortable beach stay.
John, the owner is extremely kind and helpful.
Beds are comfortable, we had nice coffee and a small fresh milk in the fridge.
The bathroom is clean, so is everything else. You can see the sea from your front porch.
Shops and restaurants are just a 2 minutes walk away.
Great location, I wish we could have stayed longer than one night.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Twin Studio
$158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $158
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $157
0.3 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
$135
  • Priceline
    $135
  • Vio.com
    $79
  • Expedia.com
    $141
0.2 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
$176
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Priceline
    $176
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $122
  • ZenHotels.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $127
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$125
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Agoda.com
    $115
  • Expedia.com
    $121
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest Room Private Hot Tub
$412
  • Trip.com
    $647
  • Hotels.com
    $412
  • Priceline
    $412
0.9 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Hotels.com
    $132
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$261
  • Priceline
    $261
  • Agoda.com
    $210
  • Expedia.com
    $261
0.7 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
$96
  • Priceline
    $96
  • Agoda.com
    $106
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
$161
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $161
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
60
35
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
35
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great location small patio plunger coffee minute walk to shops hot water one night beach towels the owner manager shops and restaurants new zealand main town central location one bedroom apartment within walking distance great facilities close to town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2022

We recently stayed a few nights at Ala Moana in Paihia, New Zealand. It was such a lovely motel. We had a one bedroom unit that could easily sleep five, so comfortably accommodated the three of us. There was plenty of room but had a comfortable and cosy feel that made us so glad we chose this motel. John the proprietor is such a lovely man, friendly and helpful even booking our cruises for us. He even provided us with other places to visit that we didn't know of, including things that would be accessible for our mother who was on a walker. The motel is right across from the bay and only a few minutes walk to the wharf and shops. A delightful place to stay and I would stay there again in a heartbeat if I revisited the area. Thoroughly recommend this motel!

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 620crisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2022

This motel is was ideal for us, and we relaxed looking over the Bay of Islands waters at sunrise. I even had a swim twice, it was warm enough even in April. Unit had everything we wanted, very clean, wonderful host

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2022

Great location, across the road from the beach and so close to town. Very clean and comfortable room. Very friendly Motelier. We wanted to be close to the wharf, and it was, which was great. A good bar/restaurant next door, very handy.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2022 via mobile

Lovely beach facing unit - tidy & clean and very comfortable! Ideally situated within walking distance to cafes, restaurants, tourist activities and supermarket - lovely evening/early morning beach walk!
Friendly service and delighted to have plunger coffee in the room - highly recommended and we’ll be sure to book again!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Zululooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2022

Totally my fault, I'd booked the wrong room. Reception temporarily unattended so I tried looking up stuff to see where I went wrong. Also noticed the current rates were a lot less than when I'd booked many months earlier.

What followed is a great example of how to look after a customer. Having mentioned my mistake which nothing could be done about, and without mentioning the difference in rates, John saw we had booked at higher rate. He offered a lower one that was a fair middle ground considering general occupancy (obviously still low) and current occupancy (full for a couple of nights). He also mentioning the upstairs outdoor area available to guests, so we could still sit up there with our dinner and enjoy the sort of view we thought we were going to be having.

So, pretty happy!

Unfortunately the hot water situation continues to be tricky. After learning after the last couple of visits that you need to run the water at full speed to get the hot water to come through, that's only good if there is actually hot water available. I took a near-enough-to-cold shower this morning. Luckily my partner showered last night so she avoided it. I'd also had one the previous evening and even then there was a bit of variability. If full occupancy on a summers morning saw the hot water out, I wouldn't want to be trying to have a hot shower on a winters morning.

If it wasn't for the hot water, Ala Moana gets 5 stars from me every time. It's still the only place I've never stayed at when in Paihia.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews