We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rachel B
Wellington NZ

Ideal base to enjoy Paihia

Review of Ala Moana Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Apr 2022
This motel is was ideal for us, and we relaxed looking over the Bay of Islands waters at sunrise. I even had a swim twice, it was warm enough even in April. Unit had everything we wanted, very clean, wonderful host
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$121
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $121
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Studio
$151
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $132
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$146
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$209
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $172
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $104
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $314
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $119
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Ala Moana Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
60
35
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
35
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great location small patio plunger coffee minute walk to shops hot water one night beach towels the owner manager shops and restaurants new zealand main town central location one bedroom apartment within walking distance great facilities close to town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2022

Great location, across the road from the beach and so close to town. Very clean and comfortable room. Very friendly Motelier. We wanted to be close to the wharf, and it was, which was great. A good bar/restaurant next door, very handy.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2022 via mobile

Lovely beach facing unit - tidy & clean and very comfortable! Ideally situated within walking distance to cafes, restaurants, tourist activities and supermarket - lovely evening/early morning beach walk!
Friendly service and delighted to have plunger coffee in the room - highly recommended and we’ll be sure to book again!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Zululooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2022

Totally my fault, I'd booked the wrong room. Reception temporarily unattended so I tried looking up stuff to see where I went wrong. Also noticed the current rates were a lot less than when I'd booked many months earlier.

What followed is a great example of how to look after a customer. Having mentioned my mistake which nothing could be done about, and without mentioning the difference in rates, John saw we had booked at higher rate. He offered a lower one that was a fair middle ground considering general occupancy (obviously still low) and current occupancy (full for a couple of nights). He also mentioning the upstairs outdoor area available to guests, so we could still sit up there with our dinner and enjoy the sort of view we thought we were going to be having.

So, pretty happy!

Unfortunately the hot water situation continues to be tricky. After learning after the last couple of visits that you need to run the water at full speed to get the hot water to come through, that's only good if there is actually hot water available. I took a near-enough-to-cold shower this morning. Luckily my partner showered last night so she avoided it. I'd also had one the previous evening and even then there was a bit of variability. If full occupancy on a summers morning saw the hot water out, I wouldn't want to be trying to have a hot shower on a winters morning.

If it wasn't for the hot water, Ala Moana gets 5 stars from me every time. It's still the only place I've never stayed at when in Paihia.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Excellent location. Very friendly reception. Clean room and bathroom. Decor a bit tired but that is ok considering everything else was so good and the staff so helpful. Def will visit again when in Paihia.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank trishr262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2020 via mobile

A very reasonable place to stay in the centre of Paihia. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The unit was spacious and spotlessly clean.
Easy walk into the township and restaurants.
The unit was not modern but was well maintained and clean.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews