We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

King Wah Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 46 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located in Paihia, King Wah Chinese Seafood Restaurant has been at the forefront of the Paihia dining scene for many years.
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

We had dinner here and choose from the menu. Lemon chicken, sizzling beef in black bean and fried rice. It was all really tasty. Definitely worth a visit. The smorgasbord looked good too

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank kiwiflyer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2021

Busy place, chose the buffet, good value, and lots to choose from. Service was great, food was fresh and plenty of it.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EstherB2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2021

I found the portions of meals to be quite small for the price, especially the serving part where you pick 6 different things and thats including noodles and rice... they dont give you much. But my latest has been the roast pork on rice, The roast pork is delicious and tender.... but they dont give you much veges to go with it... and its not consistent in portion size or vegetable option.... one time i got brocolli and carrot and another time i got near to raw onion and celery which i hate...... its average for chinese food at a high price... the crispy wontons are not very nice either...

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank ashventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2021

Had heard great things about this place, however, as it appeared to be quite busy we opted for take aways instead. The BBQ pork fried rice had little taste, and seemed to have been baked in the oven as there was an extreme lack of fat/lard/oil whatever. Same with the spring rolls which were cabbage filled and very unappealing. The seafood dish we ordered ($39.00) appeared to have steamed seafood in it, and was served in a slightly gelatinous salt water sauce. Very unappealing, and hugely overpriced. Not an enjoyable experience at all

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank sussan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

Had the buffet which included seafood, salad, Chinese (a good variety including corn & chicken soup) and a wide variety of desserts. The food was tasty and plenty of it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet was under $40 which, considering there was no limit to how much you ate, was very reasonable, as were the charges for the drinks. Recommended.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed King Wah Restaurant also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to King Wah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.