We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louise D
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom

Lovely 3 night stay

Review of Austria Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2017
We have just spent 3 nights here and really couldn't fault the place. It is situated only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and amenities and in a quiet location. The owner was very nice and friendly and helpful, we couldn't have asked for more really. If we were to return to Paihia, we would definitely stay here again.
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Suite
$171
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$116
  • Expedia.com
    $116
  • Agoda.com
    $103
  • Hotels.com
    $129
0.0 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
$99
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $81
  • Expedia.com
    $104
0.2 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$261
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $235
0.3 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$318
  • Hotels.com
    $312
  • Expedia.com
    $260
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$171
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $171
  • Algotels
    $151
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $115
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Hotels.com
    $132
  • Tripadvisor
    $132
0.8 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$96
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $114
  • Trip.com
0.8 km from Austria Motel
Free parking
Pool
$120
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $102
  • Hotels.com
    $120
0.9 km from Austria Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
36
22
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
22
6
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Property has a great location and owners are friendly. Unfortunately there are 2 bedroom apartments behind the rooms. The type of people who rent these out appear to be young people who are intent on partying well past midnight. Bought this up with the owners as they have the right to request anyone to leave at any time without giving reason (as per info. given to us upon checkin)-they seemed unwilling to do anything. Property is a bit dated but good value for money.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ann S, Owner at Austria Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We are sorry to hear about your experience. However the type of people who rent our 2 bedroom apartment are not young people intent on partying, they are mature people of all ages who are responsible and considerate. Very rarely do we get complaints about noise - when we do we will always act as quickly as possible to stop it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

My only regret is not staying longer!

The Austria Hotel is warm and welcoming.
It is centrally located and within a 5 minute walk to the wharf, supermarket and bus stop.

The owners are lovely and helpful.

It is quiet, two streets back from the beach.

While it isn't modern in terms of the decor, it's cosy and homey and an ideal place to stay.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank gypsyheart75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Booked for 4 nights initially (2-bed apartment) and ended up booking a further 3 nights (studio room). So friendly and helpful.
Great location, on road behind the main harbour side road, so it's a bit quieter. Reasonable views of the Bay of Islands from apartment, and studio has nice balcony area too, with side-on view.
Parking easy, laundry facilities useful! Mid-range accommodation that is well run and well thought out, and you just need to ask if you need something.
Easy to walk to all that Paihia has to offer, and Waitaingi is close by. Great base from which to explore Bay of Islands.

Room tip: 2-bed apartment is very spacious and more private. Up 2 floors though. Studio rooms are very comfy and well-equipped, on first floor.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROLE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2017

good position , close to everything, charming owners and staff so helpful
Very comfortable and absolutly clean. Very good value. The motel is quiet and a quick walk to all amenities, We had everything we needed

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank magsrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The room was very spacious and clean with a large deck to sit in the sun. They were very friendly owners and very helpful. Also the best laundry facilities we have found in New Zealand. The unit was self contained with a very clean kitchenette.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews